[M.M.X.I.V. 106] Nested counts

Yesterday included the second night of Passover, which means that שפירת העומר (counting of the omer) has begun: the counting of seven weeks until the next major Jewish holiday of שבועות (Shavuot), also called Pentecost in English.

The first time that I did a post-a-day challenge was in 2012, with M.A.P.L.E. as a different drummer versus the Blogspot challenge of “BEDA.”  That was right in the middle of the עמר period, so I decided to do simultaneous counting of the days of M.A.P.L.E. in each post, as well as that day’s count of the עמר.

Of course, this year, since I recently added the day-week counts to EVERY one of my M.M.X.I.V. posts, but want to take M.A.P.L.E. and O.C.T.O.B.E.R. this year as focused challenges, that means that in May, you will be seeing THREE different count-ups on the bottom of each post.

This is actually very interesting, however, as it implies that for each different type of count that you are doing, it represents a different part of your journey.  Any main goal will always have sub-goals and side quests which may or may not help you toward the main goal.  Each count gives a different part of the story–in some sense for me, the count of M.M.X.I.V. is the main story of my development as a person: personally, professionally, and the whole nine yards.  The count of the עומר represents a spiritual journey, and the count of M.A.P.L.E. will represent some sort of a sub-goal (who knows what it may be, though?) that may or may not take place during the entire month of May.

=============================================

Today is the one hundred and sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifteen weeks and one day.

היום יום אחד לעומר (Today makes one day of the omer)

One thought on “[M.M.X.I.V. 106] Nested counts

  1. Wow! This puts me in mind of the paths and sephiroth, on the Tree of Life, Noah. The Hebrew letters and words add to that sense of a spiritual journey. Fascinating, as so often before.

Do you have a response? I would love to hear it!

