[M.M.X.I.V. 107] Bill me to the Pharaoh!

“…Ruby throat takes sparrow: sing the song, don’t be long, bill me to the Pharaoh!”

Apologies to Crosby Stills Nash and Young, but when I first heard the song “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes,” that is the way I heard it.  Clearly, it must be wrong since it makes no sense, and indeed, “bill me to the Pharaoh” is actually “thrill me to the marrow.”  I figured that this Mondegreen is one that is aptly timed for today, since we are in the middle of Passover, and “Pharaoh” is a commonly-uttered word, at least during the first two days.

Interestingly, another completely unrelated song has another Noah-Mondegreen that makes it sound like a Passover song.  Apologies to the late King of Pop

“…Yes I believe in me, so you believe in you!  Help me say it: I’m gonna sing this song of matzah, yah, gonna sing this song of matzah…”

Now, how did I think that the seeming nonsense syllables “mamase mamasah mamakusah” became “song of matzah?”  Am I the only one who hears it that way, or did others too?

And I don’t think that the first time that I heard either of these songs was in the vicinity of Passover.  Sometimes, people’s own personal experiences can have a strong impact on the way that they may mishear certain songs, and twist the meanings thereof.

I suppose I’ll add one more, which is perhaps more tangentially related to Passover, but rather the epilogue of the Exodus story.  In Big Country’s almost-eponymous song, I heard part of the refrain as:

“I’m not expecting to go far into the desert, but I can live and breathe and see the sun in the wintertime…”

Nope, it’s “grow flowers in the desert!”  Well, perhaps I shared some of the ancient Israelites’ doubts about wandering in the desert, not expecting to go far when I heard this verse.  Clearly, it’s a twisted way to think about it, but I do have to have some story behind a misheard lyric, rather than just mishearing it.  (Interestingly enough, I never thought about growing flowers in the desert until I went on Birthright and saw the lush Negev.)

It is always interesting to see how others mishear songs.  One site that I used to frequent was www.kissthisguy.com, named after a common mishearing in “Purple Haze” by Jimi Hendrix.  This post was partially encouraged by Passover, and also encouraged by a post from a week and a half ago on the excellent blog Pinstripes&Lipgloss.

===========================================

Today is the one-hundred and seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifteen weeks and two days.

היום שני ימים לעומר (today is two days of the omer).

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 107] Bill me to the Pharaoh!

    • As I mentioned in the post, I find that my mondegreens tend to be based on my own experiences. Some of them become a part of my personality, or directly reflect my personality, in a way!

Do you have a response? I would love to hear it!

