[M.M.X.I.V. 239] Arrears

It’s a pretty quick post, but I wanted to talk a little bit about arrears.

During Phase One of the Character Building Trial, several of my normal activities went by the wayside, as I have extensively mentioned already on the blog.  One of these activities, however, was more critical for me to somehow keep track of–finances!  I could not easily write my own receipts for transactions, so I therefore had to rely on online receipts or others to write down the numbers if I were paying by cash instead of credit.

Ever since the end of my junior year of high school, I have kept my own financial books in the sense of keeping track of all my transactions in the way that I learned in my accounting course.  Yes, that means that this August is the ten-year anniversary of me keeping my books (in fact, it was August 4, 2004 when I first got the idea to keep my personal books!) 

Ordinarily, I post my transactions monthly at the end of the month, but sometimes journalize transactions more often than monthly so as to not have quite as much annoyance.  Of course, I was unable to do that with the cast on me, so I therefore decided to wait until close to the end of the month before journalizing TWO months of transactions.  However, because it was a long project (particularly with hunting for receipts and ensuring that I had all transactions cross-referenced in several places), I was unable now to actually post to the ledger.  I will do that at another time.

Regardless, there is always that satisfying feeling when you have finished a project that has been in arrears.  Any monkey hanging off your back is much nicer after it jumps off.  Of course, one project that is always in arrears for me: transcribing the journal to the computer!  It will eventually be whittled down, but we will see when…

Thankfully, the leaving of my recording in arrears did not cause any of my bills to be in arrears.  No siree, I am still debt-free.

========================================================

Today is the two-hundred and thirty-ninth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-four weeks and one day.

Today is the forty-fourth day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes six weeks and two days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 239] Arrears

    • Thanks, Ali! I have actually never been in debt beyond the monthly statements–I always pay off any balances in full. (Of course, I have not experienced mortgages yet, but since I was fully supported throughout my school years, my student loans are zilch.)

      Like

Let's have a conversation!