Shuffling music memories – II

Here is round 2 of Shuffling Musical Memories.  The introduction and instructions are in the first post of this variety.

1) “Dead Man’s Party” by Oingo Boingo.  During the last summer that I was in Lincoln, I heard this song two Wednesdays in a row, both during the evening after I had gone to the office for a complete physical and a follow-up, respectively.  Sort of a morbid co-incidence… I guess the way I see it, one time is an incidence, twice is a co-incidence, and thrice is a pattern.

2) “Hold On” by Kansas.   On my 12th birthday, I got a “Best of Kansas” CD and listened pretty much exclusively to “Point of Know Return,” “Carry On Wayward Son,” and “Dust in the Wind” as the songs that I knew.  Fast forward several years, and I heard this song on Pandora.  It encouraged me to give another consideration to the other songs on the CD, of which this was one of them!

3) “Jubilance” by James Swearingen.  I found this song on a search for songs by this composer, as I felt nostalgic for my band classes in middle school.  It sounds different from many of the other songs that I played, but still it gets into my head.  It was frequently stuck in my head during the summer after my freshman year of college, after I had downloaded it.  Like other other Swearingen songs, the middle of it is a great contrast with a higher focus on the woodwinds.

4) “Energy” by The Apples in Stereo.  This song was given to me for free the first time I used Amazon MP3 downloads.  It sort of grew on me after a few times of hearing it randomly pop up on my MP3 player.

5) “Rock and Roll is King” by ELO.  I heard this song on Pandora, and the “wham-a-lam-a-bam-a…” part of the chorus was one that immediately got me interested… sound effects and nonsense syllables are always amusing to me!  I remember hearing it on the radio when heading toward Overland Park, near Exit 17 of Interstate 29 in Missouri.

6) “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Tom Petty.  Although I hadn’t heard the song in a while, for some reason it was stuck in my head on the Thursday before spring break of my first year of grad school.  I was biking down the Channel Trail in Skokie for a joy ride and a little shopping, and it kept playing in my head.  I still don’t know why it was stuck in my head.  Songs evidently become salient to me randomly!

7) “Proud Mary” by Ike & Tina Turner.  This song was suggested to me by Susan Bloomberg, and she said that it’s one of her favourite songs to do karaoke too.  Unfortunately, we still have not gotten a group to a karaoke bar, but I guess that whenever I hear this song, it gives me an idea for a future activity.  Of course, this is my favourite version of the song… since I love obnoxious singing!

8) “Vyasaraya Thirtha” arr. by Sumanth Swaminathan. It’s a traditional Indian tune, and Swami had recommended his CD to everyone in the department.  I listened to this and the rest of the CD for the first time while working on some difficult problems in ESAM 411 (advanced PDE solutions).  It’s purely instrumental, which is almost a sufficient condition for me to like any song.

9) “Too Hot” by Kool and the Gang.  Ironically (or not), I heard this song on the radio during the week of July 16, 2006.  The heat was stifling that whole week, and it was also the end of my job in Prof. Batelaan’s lab, with being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  It was a trial that made me happier, though.

10) “Hot Pursuit” from Donkey Kong Country 3.  The thrill of the chase, and it sometimes popped into my head when the weather started to act up on bike rides.

11) “Strange World (Overworld theme)” from Dragon Quest VIII.  One of many beautiful orchestrated songs from this game.  It definitely feels more like a concert than a video game, and although it can get repetitive while playing, it has a classical feel to it.

12) “What is Hip” by Tower of Power. The Big Red Express played this song a few times during my time at UNL, and although I never got a great dance to it, it encouraged me to download the song.  The band’s version is so much better!

13) “Waterfalls” by TLC.  One of my earliest “‘Scuse me while I kiss this guy” songs.  I thought they were saying “Don’t go, Jason Waterfalls!” as did the rest of my siblings.  This was one of the few new songs back in my fourth-grade year that I actually liked.

14) “Sandstorm” by Darude.  I’ll never forget the techno dance that the Tesmer brothers did to this song during the Mr. Southeast Pageant in 2004.  It was quite entertaining, even though I could only see it from the side of the stage.

15) “No Reply At All” by Genesis.  When I loaded my first MP3 player back in 2005 and then put it on shuffle, this was the very first song that I heard.  Being first is always interesting!
That was a good cataloguing!  More will be coming later this week or next.

2 thoughts on “Shuffling music memories – II

Let's have a conversation!

