(MAPLE XXII) What’s in a name?

Since yesterday was “supposed” to be my Musical Monday post, but I couldn’t get it in time, I postponed it to today, so I guess today’s post is “Tuesday of Tunes.”

So, one thing I find interesting is how songs are titled and whether the title actually appears in the lyrics.  So, I’m going to do a rapid-fire thing of 100 songs (shuffled, of course!) from my computer’s library.  I will include the title, artist, and then either write a lyric that contains the exact name of the song, write (Instrumental) if it is purely instrumental, and occasionally have a comment.  Then, I will put a running count of Title–In-Song / Pure Instrumental.

Also, in the name of the song, if it contains a variant on the word “song,” I will put that count in parentheses after the song name.

So, you’ll get a large sample of my music library and see how varied my musical tastes are as well.  Of course, after looking at my “Musical Memories” sequence, that is probably quite obvious.

1) לכה דודי” למרדכי לוין” [L’cha Dodi arr. by Mordecai Levin]. Lyric: לכה דודי לקרת כלה פני שבת נקבלה [L’cha dodi likrat kallah, p’nei shabbat n’kablah].  Comment: Hebrew songs probably are more likely to have the title in their lyrics somewhere.  (1 Lyric-In-Song/0 Instrumental)

2) “Hit The Road Jack” by Buster Poindexter.  Lyric: “Hit the road Jack, and don’t you come back no more!”  Comment: None.  (2 / 0)

3) “Whip It” by Devo. Lyric: “When a problem comes along, you must whip it!” Extra comment: None.  Hope this pops up in a future Musical Memories post!  (3 / 0)

4) “Who’s on First” by Abbott & Costello. Lyric (more like line): “Who’s on first, What’s on second, I Don’t Know’s on third…”  Comment: Not exactly a song, but I definitely have some MP3 files like this. (4 / 0)

5) “Peacekeeper” by Fleetwood Mac. Lyric: “Peacekeeper take your time, wait for the dark of night…”  Comment: None. (5/0)

6) “Give It Up” by KC And The Sunshine Band. Lyric: “Nanananananah, baby give it up, give it up, baby give it up!”  Comment: None. (6/0)

7) “Samba Beach” arr. by Mason Williams.  Lyric: (Pure instrumental song!) Comment: None. (6/1)

8) “Aqualung” by Jethro Tull. Lyric: “Snot running down his nose, greasy fingers smearing shabby clothes, hey Aqualung.”  Comment: None. (7/1)

9) “Wonder What She’s Doin’ Tonite” by Tommy Boyce & Bobby Hart. Lyric: “And I wonder what she’s doin’ tonite… yeah I wonder what she’s doin’ to…night!”  Comment: None. (8/1)

10) “Shari Vari” by A Number of Names.  Lyric: “Because he’s down on his etiquette, Shari Vari’s really it.” Comment: “Kiss this guy” moment with this lyric!  I thought it said “Because he’s down on energy…” until I just looked up the lyrics. (9/1)

11) “September” by Earth Wind & Fire. Lyric: “Do you remember the 21st night of September?”  Comment: Whoa!  My new favorite number appears again!  I never made out this lyric until I looked it up. (10/1)

12) “Jubilance” by James Swearingen. Lyric: (Purely instrumental song.) Comment: None. (10/2)

13) “Sweet Little Lies” by Fleetwood Mac. Lyric: “Tell me lies, tell me sweet little lies.”  Comment: None. (11/2)

14) “Ride Like The Wind” by Christopher Cross.  Lyric: “So I ride, ride like the wind to be free again.”  Comment: None. (12/2)

15) “The Logical Song” (1) by Supertramp.  This one actually doesn’t have the exact title of the song anywhere in the lyrics! Obviously, the word “logical” appears several times, but never anything about “the logical song!” Comment: None. (12/2)

16) “Put Your Hands Up In The Air” by Danzel. Lyric: “Put your hands up in the air, put your hands up in the air!”  Comment: Please have this pop up again in the first fifteen next week! (13/2)

17) “Dance Into The Light” by Phil Collins.  Lyric: “Come dance with me, we’re gonna dance into the light, ohhh-oh!”  Comment: None. (14/2)

18) “Eagle Point Overture” by Mike Story. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (14/3)

19) “March Creole” by Stephen Bulla. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) Comment: The second part of the song includes an instrumental version of “When The Saints Go Marching In.” (14/4)

20) “Words” by Missing Persons. Lyric: “What are words for, when no one listens any more?”  Comment: Used to think they said “With the words war…”  (15/4)

21) “He’s The Greatest Dancer” by Sister Sledge. Lyric: “Oh what wow! He’s the greatest dancer–oh what wow–that I’ve ever seen!” Comment: I couldn’t make the “oh what wow” lyric until I looked it up. (16/4)

22) “Something Happened On The Way to Heaven” by Phil Collins. “I only wanted someone to love, but something happened on the way to heaven.” Comment: None. (17/4)

23) “Enjoy the Silence” by Depeche Mode.This one does not have the exact phrase “enjoy the silence” anywhere!  It has “break the silence” a few times. (17/4)

24) “Shoehorn With Teeth” arr. by Catatonics. This one does not have the lyric anywhere. Every time the word “shoehorn” is said, the next line is “the kind with teeth” and “the kind” is not the same as “”. (17/4)

25)Barukh She’amar arr. by Mordecai Levin. Lyric: “Barukh she’amar v’haya olam, barukh hu” Comment: From here on out, since the formatting doesn’t seem to like sentences in Hebrew combined with English here, I will only post transliterations if any more appear in this post. (18/4)

26) “Whenever I Call You Friend” by Stevie Nicks & Kenny Loggins. Lyric: “Whenever I call you friend, I begin to think I understand…” Comment: None. (19/4)

27) “So Much To Say, So Much To Give” by Chicago. Lyric:This lyric does not appear exactly as is.  In fact, the “say” and “give” are transposed!  Comment: None. (19/4)

28) “Anxiety’s Moment” by Chicago. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (19/5)

29) “Fire” by Jimi Hendrix. Lyric: “Let me stand next to your fire, let me stand next to your fire!”  Comment: When I heard the song with lyrics for the first time (i.e. NOT from the Big Red Express), it allowed me to modify my dance routine slightly. (20/5)

30) “Stayin’ Alive” by Bee Gees. Lyric: “Ah ah ah ah stayin’ alive…”  Comment: None. (21/5)

31) “Sussudio” by Phil Collins.  “There’s a girl that’s been on my mind all the time, sussudio.”  Comment: Some say that “sussudio” is a nonsense word, as if stammering.  (22/5)

32) “Zombie Nation” by Kernkraft 400. Lyric: “Zombie. Zombie. Zombie. Zombie nation.”  Comment: None. (23/5)

33) “Misled” by Kool And The Gang. Lyric: “She’s outgoing, but I love her so.  Misled!”  Comment: None. (24/5)

34) “Keep It Comin’ Love” by KC And The Sunshine Band. Lyric: “Keep it comin’ love, keep it comin’ love. Don’t stop it now!”  Comment: None. (25/5)

35) “Second Hand News” by Fleetwood Mac. Lyric: “I’m just second hand news, I’m just second hand news!”  Comment: None. (26/5)

36) “Tarzan Boy” by Baltimora.  Lyric: “Jungle life, I’m far away from nowhere, on my own like Tarzan Boy…” Comment: None. (27/5)

37) “Turn Your Love Around” by George Benson.  Lyric: “Turn your love around, don’t you turn me down!”  Comment: None. (28/5)

38) “Zamru” (2) arr. by Mordecai Levin. Lyric: “Zamru [laShem] v’khinor…”Comment: “Zamru” is a command to sing in Hebrew, hence why I added 1 to the “song-form” count. (29/5)

39) “Closet Chronicles” by Kansas. The words “closet” and “chronicles” appear many times in this song, but never contiguously! Comment: None. (29/5)

40) “Groove is in the Heart” by Dee-lite.  Lyric: “Groove is in the heart, groove is in the heart (ask for more!)…” Comment: None. (30/5)

41) “Mystery of the Forest” from Chrono Trigger. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (30/6)

42) “Rosanna” by Toto. Lyric: “All I wanna do when I wake up in the morning is see your eye, Rosanna, Rosanna.”  Comment: None. (31/6)

43) “Because The Night” by 10000 Maniacs.  Lyric: “Because the night belongs to lovers, because the night belongs to us…” Comment: None. (32/6)

44) “The Impression That I Get” by Mighty Mighty Bosstones. Lyric: “‘Cause I know it isn’t good, that’s the impression that I get!” Comment: I used to think the name of the song was “Knock on Wood.”  Nope.  (33/6)

45) “Come Sail Away” by Styx.  Lyric: “Come sail away, come sail away, come and sail away with me!”  Comment: None. (34/6)

46) “Battle” from Final Fantasy Tactics.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (34/7)

47) “Ocean” from Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) Comment: None. (34/8)

48) “Shaft Theme” by Barry White. The word “theme” is obviously never in this song, so the EXACT title is never said in the song.  So I’m cherry-picking a bit here, but I made my rules!  Comment: None. (34/8)

49) “I’m So Excited” by Pointer Sisters. Lyric: “I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it!”  Comment: None. (35/8)

50) “Ufros Aleinu” arr. by Mordecai Levin. Lyric: “Ufros aleinu sukkat shlomekha…” Comment: None. (36/8)

51) “Part Time Lover” by Stevie Wonder.  Lyric: “Tonight’s the night for you and me, my part time lover…” Comment: None. (37/8)

52) “25 or 6 to 4” by Chicago. Lyric: “Should I try to do some more, 25 or 6 to 4…” Comment: None. (38/8)

53) “Afterglow” by Pamela Williams. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) Comment: None. (38/9)

54) “Crono’s Theme” from Chrono Trigger. Lyric: (Purely instrumental). Comment: None. (38/10)

55) “The Next Time I Fall” by Peter Cetera.  Lyric: “The next time I fall in love, it will be with you.”  Comment: None. (39/10)

56) “Cast Your Fate To The Wind” by David Benoit. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) Comment: None. (39/11)

57) “In The House of Stone and Light” by Martin Page. Lyric: “In the house of stone and light, I will see you.”  Comment: I used to think it was “house of storm and ice.”  (40/11)

58) “Hold On” by Wilson Phillips.  Lyric: “I know that there is pain, but you hold on for one more day…”  Comment: None. (41/11)

59) “Pika Cup I” from Pokemon Stadium.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (41/12)

60) “Fancy Colours” by Chicago.  Lyric: “Fancy colours, Fancy colours, and all we ever do hear, but whether we’re there or here…”  Comment: None. (42/12)

61) “Now More Than Ever” by Chicago. The closest lyric is “Now I need you, more than ever” which is not an exact match of the song title!  Comment: None. (42/12)

62) “Owner of a Lonely Heart” by Yes. Lyric: “Owner of a lonely heart, owner of a broken heart…” Comment: None. (43/12)

63) “Only Time Will Tell” by Asia. Lyric: “Only time will tell (you’re on your own…)” Comment: None. (44/12)

64) “Poet” from Dragon Quest VIII. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (44/13)

65) “Zeal Palace” from Chrono Trigger. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (44/14)

66) “Raga Lapana – Kapi” arr. by Sumanth Swaminathan.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (44/15)

67) “Tzadik Katamar” arr. by Mordecai Levin.  Lyric: “Tzadik katamar yifrakh, k’erez balvanon yisgeh…” Comment: None. (45/15)

68) “Love Plus One” by Haircut 100.  Lyric: “Ring ring ring ring, love love, love plus one.”  Comment: I thought the “ring” was “ray” at first.  (46/15)

69) “Green Onions” by Booker T.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) Comment: None. (46/16)

70) “Steppin’ Out” by Joe Jackson.  Lyric: “Steppin’ out into the night…”  Comment: None. (47/16)

71) “Rock And Roll Part 2” by Gary Glitter.Do I really count the “heys” as the only lyrics so as to DQ this song from being a pure instrumental? Yes. Comment: None. (47/16)

72) “The Samurai in Autumn” by Pet Shop Boys.  Lyric: “It’s not as easy as it was or as difficult as it could be for the samurai in autumn.”  Comment: None. (48/16)

73) “Wind River Overture” by Bruce Pearson.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental.) (48/17)

74) “Mine” from Donkey Kong Country 2. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  (48/18)

75) “Ocean View” by Pieces of a Dream. Lyric: (Purely instrumental). (48/19)

76) “Catch Me I’m Falling” by Pretty Poison. Lyric: “Catch me I’m falling, hold on to my love!” Comment: None. (49/19)

77) “Escapade” by Janet Jackson.  Lyric: “Let me take you on an escapade.”  Comment: None. (50/19)

78) “Exaltation” by James Swearingen. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: none. (50/20)

79) “Minnie The Moocher” by (?????).  Lyric: “Hey folks here’s the story ’bout Minnie the Moocher.” Comment: None. (51/20)

80) “Don’t Bring Me Down” by ELO.  Lyric: “Don’t bring me down, no no no no no!”  Comment: None. (52/20)

81) “The Way You Do The Things You Do” by Temptations.  Lyric: “The way you do the things you do [echo]…” Comment: None. (53/20)

82) “All My Life” by K-Ci and JoJo. Lyric: “All my life, I pray for someone like you.” Comment: None. (54/20)

83) “Once In A Red Moon” by Secret Garden. Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: None. (54/21)

84) “Scalliwag” by Gaelic Storm. The word “scalliwag” never even appears in the song! That’s really interesting.Comment: You need a lyrics guide for this song since it’s so fast!  (54/21)

85) “Schala’s Theme” from Chrono Trigger. Lyric: (Purely instrumental). Comment: none. (54/22)

86) “Movin’ In” by Chicago. The title of the song never appears in any form in the song! Comment: None. (54/22)

87) “Now’s The Time” by Charlie Parker Quartet. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: none. (54/23)

88) “SS Libra” from Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness. Lyric: (Purely instrumental). Comment: none. (54/24)

89) “Krishna Nee Begane – Yamun Kaly.” arr. by Sumanth Swaminathan.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental.)  Comment: none. (54/25)

90) “Classical Gas” arr. by Mason Williams. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (54/26)

91) “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” by CSNY. None of those four words ever appear explicitly in the lyrics. Comment: One of my favorite lyrics mishearings late in the song: “Sing the song, don’t be long, bill me to the Pharaoh!” is what I thought it said once. (54/26)

92) “Shake Your Love” by Debbie Gibson. Lyric: “Shake your love, I just can’t shake your love…” Comment: None. (55/26)

93) “What is Hip” by Tower of Power. Lyric: “What is hip, tell me tell me!” Comment: None. (56/26)

94) “Bhagyada Lakshmi – Madhyamavathi” arr. by Sumanth Swaminathan.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental). Comment: None. (56/27)

95) “Father Figure” by George Michaels. Lyric: “I will be your father figure, put your tiny hand in mine…”  Comment: None. (57/27)

96) “Your Love” by The Outfield. Lyric: “I just want to use your love tonight, I don’t want to lose your love tonight!”  Comment: None. (58/27)

97) “Boss I” from Chrono Trigger. Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (58/28)

98) “Kiss From A Rose” by Seal.  Lyric: “Baby, I compare you to a kiss from a rose on the gray.” Comment: I thought that the word “gray” was “bay” or “grave.”  (59/28)

99) “Long Ride Home” by Mindi Abair.  Lyric: (Purely instrumental).  Comment: None. (59/29)

100) “The Pinnacle” by Kansas. The word “pinnacle” never appears explicitly in this epic song.  How funny that this came up as the last song on the list, because this was actually one of the reasons I was curious about this topic! Comment: Hopefully it shows up again for a Musical Memories post. (59/29)

So… it is clear that I have some songs without the title explicitly and exactly in the song.  A few of those were cherry-picks of inexact matches, but some, like “The Pinnacle” or “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” don’t have the words at all!

Today’s counts and nugget:

Today is the 22nd day of MAPLE.

היום ארבעים וחמישה יום, שהם שישה שבועות ושלושה ימים לעמר

“I’ve had the time of my life, and I’ve never felt this way before!”  (Indeed, this was the 101st song on the shuffle.)

One thought on “(MAPLE XXII) What’s in a name?

Let's have a conversation!

