Musical memories shuffle – X

Wow, so I’ve made it to ten unique posts on this topic.  You know the rules, you know the lifelines, so let’s play.

1) “lose9” from Bridge Base Online.  Some of the songs on my MP3 player are simply sound effects, and this is one of them.  It’s one of the dirges of which name I do not know (wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-wa-waaaaaaaa).  On Bridge Base, it plays as one of ten “non-approving melodies” when you click a wrong answer in a quiz.

2) “Kids in America” by Kim Wilde.  The song has a fun beat in the background, and I think that the tone of voice, along with some other components, make it enjoyable for me.  My favorite line is “New York to East California, there’s a new wave comin’ I warn ya!” as there is something subtly different to me in the voice.  Also, on B107.3’s Battle of the Sexes, occasionally on Famous Name Fridays, they have asked for a famous Kim, and Wilde never made the list.  So I invariably call in and add it to the list… with an obvious implication to request the song… but they didn’t take it!

3) “Overkill” by Men At Work.  This song doesn’t have any particular memories currently associated with it, although I just happen to like it.  Like in the previous song, one of the choruses has a higher timbre than the rest of them “Day after day, it reappears…” (toward the end of the song) and I really seem to like that.

4) “A Strange Happening” from Chrono Trigger.  The mysterious yet foreboding tone to this song happens in the game whenever… well, a strange happening takes place.  There are definitely times that I start humming this tune in my head, and although it’s not always a “strange” happening, it starts playing in my head if a thunderstorm appears to be on the horizon or the skies look strange.

5) “Get-A-Way” by Maxx.  It’s a pumped up song that I have heard several times on my “Pulse” station on Pandora, and I love how I can find songs similar to what I have heard on the radio, but ones that I had not previously heard.  The electronic sounds, plus the nonsensical and run-on lyrics, make me have fun every time I hear it.

6) “Mother and Child Reunion” by Paul Simon.  When I first heard the song, I thought it said “…the mother and child of Yuna…” and it made me wonder who Yuna was.  Go figure with my interesting way of hearing songs.  Strangely enough, this song had NOT been salient for me on times when I have gone back to visit family, either from UNL or Northwestern.  (Will this put a self-fulfilling prophecy for October 11, though?)

7) “Tribal Dance” by 2 Unlimited.  Like its other Jock Jam song (Get Ready for This), the jam in this song makes me want to get up and move.  It was stuck in my head after I heard it on Pandora a few days before I headed back to Lincoln for winter break from Northwestern in 2009, and it has also come up plenty of other times.  I think I remember a clip of this song popping up in “Space Jam” too.

8) “Stayin’ Alive” by The Bee Gees.  My first memorable experience with this song was actually not on the radio, but instead an interpretation of the song at the end of my fifth grade year.  It was part of the 70’s decade project that we did at the end of the year, and so this song somewhat captures the bittersweetness of that time.  Fifth grade was definitely my favorite year of elementary school–I have Mrs. Sanks and Mrs. Williams to thank for that.

9) “On The Loose” by Saga.  I heard this song a few times on The Eagle (92.9 KTGL) when I was younger, but didn’t really get the song into my head until I heard it during sometime in my undergraduate career.  However, there is no specific memory.  The synthesizers and pianos combine well during one of the instrumental interludes.

10) “Windows” by Chick Corea.  This song comes from the first Weather Channel CD.  Though I never heard it during the Local-on-the-8’s, I see how well it seems to connect to the weather.  The title “Windows” makes me think of staring out a window on a sunny day, perhaps even at sunrise.

11) “Satin Doll” arr. by Wes Montgomery.  This song I first learnt about when I played it in jazz band during middle school.  I made a (bad) joke that we needed to ensure that the risers that we played it on were sufficiently stable… as Mr. Schulz told us the story of the Kansas City Hyatt disaster and said that this song was one of the songs in that band’s set.  I have been to that Hyatt twice: once to the Peppercorn Duck Club and once to stay for a wedding.

12) הגשמה עצמית מאריק ברמן (“Hagshamah Atzmit” by Erik Berman).  This is one of the songs that Udi Krauss played during the Thursday evening that we spent at Kibbutz Almog in Israel.  The words aren’t as important as the instrumentals.  Interestingly, this song fits in well considering my “rule” for choosing the songs to write about: this was the FOURTH song that he sang that night!

13) “Rock The Boat” by Hues Corporation.  I heard this song plenty of times on the oldies stations like KOOL 105.3 (later 105.3 LINC-FM and WOW-FM).  I enjoy the piano playing in the background, and like a few of the other songs I mentioned in the list, one of the segues to the last chorus has a rising part that seems to catch me.  However, Mom doesn’t like this song at all.  Just because she doesn’t like it doesn’t force me not to like it… and that’s not rebellion at all.  If we all liked the same songs, it would be boring!

14) “September” by Earth Wind & Fire.  How fitting for this song to pop up today!  However, the funny thing is that my early times hearing this song were often in November and December: the LSE Band of Doom (basketball band!) played this song during pre-game festivities in my sophomore and junior years.  Wonder if it’s because they wished they were still in marching band?  Nah, I’m just kidding.  I liked the band version better than the radio version, as might be expected.

15) “Invisible Touch” by Phil Collins.  I liked the song the first time I heard it when driving home from the Cornhusker State Games in my junior year of high school, and then didn’t hear it again for the next 11 months.  Obviously, the words aren’t what get me into the song… as the lyrics feel like some sort of creeper.

That’s the end of Volume 10.

One thought on “Musical memories shuffle – X

Let's have a conversation!

