(OCTOBER VIII) Holidays everywhere

This time of year is holiday season in the Hebrew calendar. To many people, they know ראש השנה (Rosh Hashanah) and יום כפור (Yom Kippur), but the other major holiday in this season is סוכות (Sukkot) the festival of booths.

At the end of סוכות, the holiday שמיני עצרת (Sh’mini Atzeret) and שמחת תורה (Simchat Torah) end the holiday season. Although I don’t follow them to a T, I am going to a community member’s house for dinner on שמיני עצרת and then to הלל (Hillel) for services and dancing with the תורה on שמחת תורה. (By the time this timer for posting hits, I will have already done these. Even though I disobey prohibitions on creative acts, I will use the timed post option in deference. )
Despite it being an option to me in previous years, I never made it to services for much of the סוכות-שמיני עצרת-סמחת תורה sequence. I am excited to experience them for the first time in many years!
This post was also my first attempt at the app on my phone. Hope it works!

Today is the eighth day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes one week and one day.

One thought on “(OCTOBER VIII) Holidays everywhere

Let's have a conversation!

