Happy New Year–Be careful!

It’s time for New Year’s Day.  With that comes celebration, whether at a big party, home with friends, or at the hotel before the big bowl game.  Personally, I have always celebrated at home with my siblings and family (excluding last year, when I was home alone while the others were in Omaha, with Dad’s family after Grammy passed away.  Still something where I feel that I abandoned my morals for a basketball game.)

That parenthetical part, though, is neither here nor there.  Back to the thesis of the title.  It seems like these holidays in the USA are often associated with drinking.  I wonder why that is.  Several years that I was in Lincoln, the Journal-Star had a full-page spread with tips on how to “ensure a party that is a smashing (instead of a smashed) success.”  This happened just before Independence Day and New Year’s Day most of the time.

As you know, I am not much of a drinker, and I don’t understand why people revel by overindulging in their drinks.  I cannot fault people for that, but if they become dangerous to themselves or others, watch your six.  The celebrating with drinking seems unnatural to me since I am used to celebration involving food and sitting in services (ha!)

Of course, enjoy yourself whether you choose to get smashed or add up your tea bags!  The new year is an exciting time–it is meant to be celebrated!  If you choose to drink, drink responsibly.  If you aren’t normally a late-night person (points to self), this is a good reason to fight cognitive dissonance.  Social aspects can make your mind work in different ways!

Also, the topic of New Year’s resolutions.  I feel that even though people tend to “explicitly” list them, sometimes I feel that the “cliche” ones such as “Exercise more, eat less…” are too easy to fail.  Sometimes, resolutions come with a change of mind or a gradual change of mind.

Happy New Year!  May 2013 be a fun, productive, and meaningful year!

Let's have a conversation!

