It’s been a while

It’s been since the 21st of January since I last had a blog post.  Indeed, I have been busy with activity since then, from research, TA’ing, and plenty of meetings.  Since I just want to get a post out, I might as well list some of the highlights and lowlights of the last few weeks.

In no particular order:

* The weather has been so temperamental in Chicago!  Going from fifties and sixties (Fahrenheit) down to single digits, and finally getting some snow to fall.

* I made chili to take to the office, and it was a huge success!

* Research looked at another avenue toward my problem, which resolved some problems but created new ones.  It’s always a conservation of difficulty situation…

* I still have the vim and vigor to go to multiple sporting events in a single day.  Fencing! Basketball! Swimming!

* Grading is quite annoying, especially for homework assignments.  But toward the end of the stack, I get into a rhythm of powering through.

* It’s important to stay in touch with family and friends.  My ninth-grade English teacher unexpectedly passed away last week… I am very glad that I got to see her when I was back in Lincoln over winter break.

* Despite the fact that I subscribe to the Chicago Tribune, I am not very regular about reading it.

* It is very easy to get caught up in various time-sucks that can break up routines.

* Textbooks are expensive!

* You never know what topics may become a vivid conversation starter.  At “Get Connected,” the difference between “who” and “whom” did it.

* Biking ten miles in the cold?  No big deal!  There was no ice, and easily-avoidable snow and slush.

* Revisiting a topic opens up new ideas for explanation.  I really believe now that the best way to learn something is to teach it!

There are plenty of other bullet points, but part of my goal was just to push a post past.  Hopefully, I will post at least ONCE in the next 18 days!

Let's have a conversation!

