17,544 hours later…

“Published on: Jul 31, 2011 @ 13:00”

On the “under-the-hood” matter of my blog, the status in the “Publish” box reads this for my very first blog post.  The title of this post, as you might have deduced, is how many hours are in one year plus one leap year.

Therefore, I’ll do a little bit of meta-blogging in this post.

My purpose for starting the blog was because when we were in Israel, our trip was supposed to write a blog for the Taglit-Birthright Israel website.  Among the 46 participants, there were only two entries on said blog, which is unfortunate.  It was actually en route to the hospital in בער-שבע (Beersheba) that I decided, “When I get home, I’m going to transcribe my journal to a blog!”

Originally, my first post was going to be what my second post is.  But, after realizing that the פרשת שבוע (Weekly Reading) was מסעי (Mas’ei — literally “journeys:” the Reading at the end of Numbers with a travelogue of the Israelites), it made me want to open with a Bible-style prelude.  The remainder of the posts all stayed true to my journal, with the exception of minor errors and explicit opinions of named people edited out.  This comprised the first twelve entries on the blog.  (I decided to re-title them for better referencing.)

I suppose that my original purpose of the blog was to post some of my interesting travelogues and journal entries, as well as exploring my memories.  My early posts were often of the “Musical Memories” sequence (NOT A SERIES: they don’t add to each other! Had to throw in a math reference somewhere 🙂 ), or travelogues of the century rides that I did that fall.  However, as can be seen on my archive, the posts were pretty sparsely distributed after the big boom at the beginning.

After reading about B.E.D.A. from a few of my friends who use the rival BlogSpot, it encouraged me to do a post-every-day-in-a-month challenge.  But, with its own name, I called it M.A.P.L.E. and found something to write about every day.  It was an interesting challenge, and in some ways lowered my high standards for posting on the blog.  Not every post needs to be a masterpiece, especially since this is not a professional site.  It shows character to have both high-quality and low-quality posts!

My topics of writing have seemed to expand beyond memories and retrospectives to sometimes having prospectives, thoughts about topics that pop up in my head or around me, and more.  I have attempted to connect my journal more to my blog, in the following sense.  Since I almost always carry my journal where I go, if I think of something that might make a good blog post, I have designated the back of the journal as a spot for me to put new blog ideas.  Some of my recent posts, such as “I’ll let you know when I get home,” “Vull and noid,” and “Long days and ‘tudes’” have been inspired by random thoughts that found their way to my journal.

I plan to continue using my blog to post retrospectives, and with the ideas that have come as a result of “just living,” more “random thoughts” are going to appear.  In some sense, this is a post of “random thoughts.”

Though I do not post EVERY day, I feel like I want to post more frequently on the blog than my average earlier in its career.  I still plan on doing M.A.P.L.E. and O.C.T.O.B.E.R., but want to attempt to post something at least once a week in order to keep my readers engaged in the material, as well as to ensure that the site stays active.

Interestingly, in addition to today being the Cotton Anniversary of the blog, this is also the 175th post.  Yay–a double milestone!

In order to celebrate this milestone “exactly,” I will close the post with the scheduler.  Of course, publication may be plus-or-minus a minute.  (Unless the scheduler fails like it did the last time…)

“Schedule for: 07-Jul 31, 2013 @ 13 : 00”

One thought on “17,544 hours later…

Let's have a conversation!

