Photoblog: 212 kilometers

As I have said in some recent posts, I was going to post some photos of the ride from Lincoln to Omaha.  However, since I did the Four Star Bike and Chow today, I figured that I would combine them, and give my 10 favorite pictures from each.

However, both of them focus heavily on the beginning and the end, because I am not good at budgeting my GoPro battery, since it only lasts about 2 hours total.

When I do the North Shore Century, I will not have any long footage times, so that I have enough to get some different photos.

Here goes nothing!

Lincoln to Omaha

Dad and I bike through Walton, Nebraska.  The old bike shop was torn down--it used to be where those cars on the right are.

Dad and I bike through Walton, Nebraska. The old bike shop was torn down–it used to be where those cars on the right are.

The MoPac trail had a lot of trees, which made it really pretty to ride on.

The MoPac trail had a lot of trees, which made it really pretty to ride on.

The small town of Eagle, Nebraska.  This was about 10 miles into our trip.

The small town of Eagle, Nebraska. This was about 10 miles into our trip.

The convenience store in Elmwood that was our first stop en route to Omaha.

The convenience store in Elmwood that was our first stop en route to Omaha.

A cow painted on a building.  This is for you, Mom!

A cow painted on a building. This is for you, Mom!

Inside the Main Street Cafe in Louisville, Nebraska.  This was our lunch break.

Inside the Main Street Cafe in Louisville, Nebraska. This was our lunch break.
Crossing over the Platte River en route to Omaha.

Crossing over the Platte River en route to Omaha.

The Millard water tower, and the intersection that stayed red in our direction for three cycles!

The Millard water tower, and the intersection that stayed red in our direction for three cycles!

Dad and I are heading toward the pedestrian bridge that links Omaha and Council Bluffs.

Dad and I are heading toward the pedestrian bridge that links Omaha and Council Bluffs.
On the pedestrian bridge, I am standing with one foot in Iowa and the other in Nebraska!

On the pedestrian bridge, I am standing with one foot in Iowa and the other in Nebraska!

Four Star Bike and Chow

The group of people, myself included, in the last wave to start the 62-mile ride.

The group of people, myself included, in the last wave to start the 62-mile ride.

(Pointing at the eight people crossing): Scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw.  (Sorry for the holier-than-thou attitude here...)

(Pointing at the eight people crossing): Scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw, scofflaw. (Sorry for the holier-than-thou attitude here…)

A Four Star bridge is perfect for the Four Star Bike and Chow!

A Four Star bridge is perfect for the Four Star Bike and Chow!

However, I usually go to Rockwood Place for the Husker games nowadays.

However, I usually go to Rockwood Place for the Husker games nowadays.

MARSHAL! MARSHAL! MARSHAL!  (I left my laser gun at home.  Sheesh, give me a break here!)

MARSHAL! MARSHAL! MARSHAL! (I left my laser gun at home. Sheesh, give me a break here!)

The shadow signals not just a turn onto the forest preserve trail, but also implores you to LIVE LONG AND PROSPER.

The shadow signals not just a turn onto the forest preserve trail, but also implores you to LIVE LONG AND PROSPER.

An island in the Botanic Gardens.  On the ride, we couldn't see much of the gardens, but I had to get at least one reasonable look.

An island in the Botanic Gardens. On the ride, we couldn’t see much of the gardens, but I had to get at least one reasonable look.

Westward over a green bridge.  But , we're not in Iowa anymore (nor in Nebraska)!

Westward over a green bridge. But (insert 80’s group other than Toto here), we’re not in Iowa anymore (nor in Nebraska)!

Interesting bikes are interesting, and I like seeing ellipticals on these rides.

Interesting bikes are interesting, and I like seeing ellipticals on these rides.

Mission accomplished!  I've got 100 kilometres under my belt!

Mission accomplished! I’ve got 100 kilometres under my belt!

 

