[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VII] Musical memories shuffle XV

Wow, I’ve gotten to fifteen entries in the Musical Memories sequence.  You know the rules, you know the lifelines, so let’s play “Who Wants To Hear Some Music!”

1) She Blinded Me With Science by Thomas Dolby.  This is a repeat from Episode 6, but I wanted to comment on how I really like the different ways that the man exclaims the word “science.”  Sometimes, it is very matter-of-fact, especially when not preceded by “blinded me with…” But, because of that, my favorite is “SCIIIIIENCE!” at circa-130 seconds in.  He gets more emphatic as the song continues.

2) Edge of Seventeen by Stevie Nicks.  I really liked this song when I was young, and hearing it on the oldies stations.  There was one time that we were driving back from Lincoln or Omaha toward Fort Dodge when we used to live there.  As you can predict where this is going, I heard the song at a gas station in Dow City, and after that, Mom recommended that I try to sleep (we were still about 2 hours away from Fort Dodge at that point), and I succeeded.

3) Point of Know Return by Kansas.  One of my favorite songs in 5th and 6th grade.  This song has the distinction of being the first song that I ever successfully requested on the radio.  I was listening to the “All Request Lunch Hour” on The Eagle (92.9 KTGL Lincoln/Beatrice) before going to a Bright Lights half-day camp.  (The topic of the camp was board games.)  Mom suggested that I call in that song, so I did, and heard it on the stereo in the kitchen just before we left!  Is it a coincidence that I recall this now at lunch time as I write this post?

4) Takin’ It To The Street by Eric Marienthal.  A jazzified version of a well-known Doobie Brothers song.  The saxophone foreground combines well with the background, although the refrain (“Takin’ it to the street”) actually IS vocalized, unlike other jazzified songs.  It’s a different idea, and I enjoy it.  I found it on Pandora one day.

5) Bryce Canyon Overture by Mark Williams.  This was one of the songs that we played in sixth grade band at Humann.  It was by far my favorite song that we played, and my trumpet had no more mechanical issues like in fifth grade.  I strived to memorize it when learning it, from inspiration by Kusi Taki when they came to perform for our class earlier that year.  It was the first of many songs from band class which stick out in my head.

6) Woodstock by CSNY.  As implied in #3 of this post, classic rock was my favorite genre of music when I was in late elementary school.  The refrain “We are stardust…” was my favorite, due to the instrumentals.  Like usual at that point, the lyrics didn’t make a difference to me.  Looking at it now, I find a clash in the lyrics!  “We are billion-year-old carbon” (science?) versus “we’ve got to get ourselves back to the garden” (creationism?)

7) קידוש [Kiddush] arr. by Mordecai Levin.  This arrangement is the “standard Shabbat blessing,” but is accompanied by instrumentals in this recording.  I have never been to a service where it has actually been accompanied by instrumentals, but I like the slower singing in this arrangement, in order to emphasize the musicality of it.

8) Message In A Bottle by The Police.  This song has no specific memory associated with it.  However, it is on my MP3 player because (a) Mom had the MP3 and it was part of the “starter playlist” for me, and (b) the repetitive “sending out an SOS” at the end appealed to me.

9) Spider Webs by No Doubt.   This is a classic “Kiss This Guy” style song.  The first time I heard this song was in October of 1996, and since I didn’t always hear the lyrics well in songs, during the refrain, I heard, “It’s all your fault I scream my bones off.”  I thought it made sense, since that seemed natural near Halloween.  It wasn’t until the summer of 2007 (June 14, to be precise) that I learnt the real lyrics “…screen my phone calls” when my RUTE teammates called my error out.  I still like MY mishearing better, though!

10) Facts of Love by Climie-Fisher.  Repeat of Round Nine, and nothing worth adding.

10b) Silver Springs by Stevie Nicks.  The song got stuck in my head one day in seventh grade when I heard it on the radio while riding “shotgun” in the van (once again listening to The Eagle).  However, after that one, I didn’t hear it for about nine years!

11) Queen of Clubs by KC and the Sunshine Band.  This was on the “Best of KC…” CD that my parents have, and was part of my “starter set” of MP3s.  However, unlike some of the other “Best of” songs that I have ripped from (i.e. Kansas), this one has not really grown on me.  So it goes–you never know when it might!

12) Cast Your Fate To The Wind by David Benoit.  This is on the Weather Channel II CD.  Although it doesn’t have any specific memories associated with it, it has grown on me as I have listened to it.  I especially like the high-energy parts where the keys seem to be moving all over the keyboard.

13) Hit The Road Jack by Buster Poindexter.  On my first spring break as an undergraduate at UNL, I went to Colorado with SPS to tour JILA and NIST.  This was one of the first songs that I heard as we left Lincoln to go westward.  For once, that trip was not particularly conversational, for whatever reason…

14) A Little Bit of Ecstasy by Amber.  In my sophomore year at UNL, during fall break, I was chatting with my siblings about music, and the movie “Night At The Roxbury” came up.  I had never seen that movie (and still haven’t.  One of these days…), but they all recommended it, and to search the Web for songs from the movie.  This was one of them, even though I don’t know if it was actually in the movie.  It came up in the search, okay?

15) When Smokey Sings by ABC.  I heard this song when driving home from Bellevue to Lincoln after a Pokemon TCG tournament.  I don’t know what it is that hooked me to the song, but I suspect it has to do with the “everything’s good in the world… tonight!”  The message as well as the instruments accompanying those lines (though I can’t deduce what the instrument is.)

=================================

Today is the seventh day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.

Let's have a conversation!

