[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. XIV] Reflection on 200

This is Post #200, less than a calendar year after my 100th, which was about 14 months after my first.  However, I’m not going to do a crazy summary post like last year.  Rather, I’d just like to take a few paragraphs to consider where I have come since starting my blogging.  (I don’t want to carry on too long with this post, because I still have to make dinner and get to my ulpan course at 19:30 tonight.)

When I started the blog, I had no particular plan after I finished chronicling the Israel trip, other than making posts at some sort of a regular interval.  Many of my early posts were sequences of posts, like “The man with nine lives,” “Musical memories shuffle,” and “High Holidays Retrospective.”  These all had the feel of a collection of journal entries to me as I wrote them, as I felt that was my purpose at the time on this blog.

After learning about B.E.D.A, I started M.A.P.L.E. and had to somewhat change my approach.  Not every one of my posts had to be a long essay or journal entry, as that might not catch the interest of everyone, and indeed, sometimes brevity is indeed the soul of wit.  Plus, it gave me a challenge to consider things to write for which I might have not otherwise considered.  In some senses, it lowered my standards for length and even quality of a blog post, but at the same time, I enjoyed writing shorter posts because it required less thought.

Between the first M.A.P.L.E. and O.C.T.O.B.E.R., most of my posts were simply reactionary to the day or nearby days, especially the Four Word Post.

Interestingly, with O.C.T.O.B.E.R. last year, the month included two vacations for which I used full journaling in my written journal, but never posted them on the blog.  I figure that I can later use them as “Throwback Thursday” entries if I wish, but at the same time, it is always a question as to how much I want to reveal.  Of course, I am careful about what information I do share, but sometimes I feel I need checks and balances against it.

As time passed into May of this year for M.A.P.L.E., I was also starting to read Lorelle VanFossen’s website with blog exercises.  This is where I started reconsidering my categorization and tagging of posts.  Although I have not done many of the exercises that she recommends, having read them in the past might spark new ideas for writing or design on my blog.  It has also allowed me to get readers beyond just Facebook friends and face-to-face friends that I make aware of my blog.

Of course, as you can see by looking at the tag cloud, categories, and my general approach, pretty much anything goes.  In some sense, the blog has become an extension of my personality, as I feel that I give it a lot of flavor based on my current thoughts.  Reading some old entries also is like looking through a portfolio, or looking at myself from several years ago.  In some sense, it’s my letter to myself all over again!

======================================

Today is the fourteenth day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes two weeks.

Let's have a conversation!

