[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. XIX] Standing at the desk

Normally, when I am at the office working on math, I sit down in my chair at my desk.  I have heard from many sources, however, that it is not healthy to sit for long periods of time.

My Dad, at his medical office, has removed the office chair from his workspace, and created a scaffold crate-like thing in order to prop his computer at eye level.  That way, he is standing while treating patients, standing while dictating, and standing in general at the office.

Although I don’t have the same setup that he does, I noticed that I could use all of the unused books on the bookshelf in my office to set up an elevated place for me to put my computer.  While I worked yesterday on my math stuff, although my feet hurt a little bit for standing almost the whole day during work, I felt it was a good thing to do.

Standing is something that I am used to in certain contexts.  For example, I almost never sit down at football or basketball games, excluding halftime.  During services, there are sometimes long sequences of standing (e.g. at Northwestern’s Conservative services, it is customary to stand from ושמרו (V’shamru) through עלינו (Aleinu).)  And, when I used to work at Runza, I was on my feet for the full three-to-six-hour shift.  Oh, and while TA’ing, I’m on my feet!

In some sense, it put me in a different state of mind.  Because this is a new context for standing continuously, it may take a couple of tries before I get my head around it, but I feel that with standing, it will improve my circulation, and will put me in a mindset that may make it easier for me to concentrate on the math.  Or will it?

Interestingly, last night, I was at the Hillel dinner, and someone asked what date it was, to which I responded, “October 18… er, ח’י באוקטובר.”  Then it dawned on me perhaps a hidden reason why I tried working while standing today: 18 is the number of prayers in the weekday עמידה.  (In fact, the Orthodox sometimes call that prayer שמובה עשרה (literally 18)).

But there I go with unrelated relations.  Ha!

=================================================

Today is the nineteenth day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes two weeks and five days.

3 thoughts on “[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. XIX] Standing at the desk

Let's have a conversation!

