[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. XXIII] Late dinner

The last meal of the day (whether you call that “dinner” or “supper”) may be eaten at different times.  When I was younger, it was much later than other families that I knew for my family.  We would frequently not eat until 19:30 or later, because my siblings had activities such as gymnastics and swimming.  I was befuddled to learn that many families ate dinner around 17:30.

Flash forward to nowadays for me.  I have no consistent time for eating dinner, as depending on the day, it can range anywhere between 17:30 and 20:00.

But today, it didn’t happen until 21:45.  After work, I met with the residence director about the bed bug problem, and immediately went for the Autism Speaks Town Hall meeting.  I volunteered for the whole time to help set up, break down, and run the computer for the slide show presentations.  It was a great time, but I did feel pretty hungry toward the end.

However, I did have some beef stew when I got home.  On some days if I don’t eat dinner at a reasonable time, I suffer from hunger-based anorexia and no longer want to eat that day.  (NOTICE: “Anorexia” in this context means loss of appetite, not the eating disorder “anorexia nervosa.”) This hasn’t happened in a while, but the time that stuck out to me was back in August of 1999, when the food logistics for the rehearsal dinner at Cousin Andee’s wedding completely failed.  I ate nothing at that dinner, and despite an offer to go to pick up fast food afterward, I was done for the day.

Hunger is often a state of mind as much as it is a state of body…

===================================

Today is the twenty-third day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes three weeks and two days.

Today was Mole Day, and also happened to be Hump Day.  Does that mean that I’m making a mountain out of a molehill?

Let's have a conversation!

