[Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R. XXXI] Walking is slow

Having a bike is a great thing, as it provides many benefits of exercise that walking also does.  Plus, it is much faster to get around on a bike than it is on foot.

Granted, that’s the point of this post.  Sometimes I feel that I take the bike for granted, especially when I “voluntarily” refrain from riding.  When I say voluntarily, I mean that I could ride but choose not to.  Of course, you could say that there is never an “involuntary” time that I don’t ride.  The cases of “involuntary” non-riding include when the bike is in the shop for repairs, when there is a lot of snow or ice, or when I have to carry something that would not fit on the bike.  In some sense, going to Hillel on Shabbat when there is not a ‘Cats sporting event I consider an involuntary refusal to ride (though I realize I set a double standard there).

The idea came to me on Tuesday, when I chose to walk to Panera to have dinner with Dina, rather than riding my bike.  I thought that it felt really slow, since I am so used to riding my bike.  However, it is an important paradigm shift, and in some sense I can think of it as a cross-training (YEAH, RIGHT!)

Just as you see things differently when on bike versus in a car, you see things differently on foot than you do on a bike.  You get even more time to enjoy the weather, the fresh air, and the environment.  Though I don’t consider it particularly practical, it is definitely better when talking, as it is much easier to walk and talk than it is to bike and talk.  One activity that I rather enjoy is just low-key walking and chatting–it is a staple of post-dinner times with friends.

Despite the seeming negativity that the post gives, I actually do enjoy walking.  It is simply that when I am so used to riding a bike, walking feels slow.  This is only really the case outside, since inside I should not be riding a bike.  (However, I will evilly admit that I sometimes ride my bike through the halls of Tech.  So sue me now!)

I wonder if runners or other cyclists feel the same way about walking and it being slow?  Or people in general?  Do they even think about the speeds in that way?

====================================================

This has been a fun O.C.T.O.B.E.R. of posts.  From musical posts to sporting events, meaningful Throwback Thursdays and random thoughts, I have covered a lot of ground.  Even if there were some days that I had difficulty with topics, I was motivated to do them.

Today is the thirty-first day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes four weeks and three days.

>>TO BE CONTINUED…

Let's have a conversation!

