Deleting the whole word

When you make a typo while typing, depending on where you type, it is very easy to make a typo, either due to fat fingers syndrome, jumpy fingers, or other reasons.  For me, this is most often when I have jumpy fingers, and end up transposing letters in a word.

On a phone, or on Microsoft Word, these errors are often auto-corrected (for example, if you type “Wendesday”, it will auto-correct to “Wednesday”.  (I have no “strange autocorrects” plugged into Word, but it often gets weird on the phone when the phone does not recognize a word.  But that is another topic for another post.)

Sometimes, however, these errors are not caught by the auto-correct software.  When I make a transposition error, and the red squigglies appear below the word (i.e. auto-correct does not invoke), sometimes I will delete the whole word and start over instead of scrolling to the transposed letters, and reversing them in that way.  This is especially a tendency that I have in WordPress, since there is no auto-correct function on the interface, at least to the best of my knowledge.

In some sense, actually, I have to admit that I have cheated [chated] on the Freewrites.  I have sometimes [soemtimes] used the backspace to correct these kinds of errors, contrary to [o] the rules that I set out in my first post of the Freewrite sequence.  Yes, even I, the honest “Abe,” can confess to occasionally not playing by my own rules!

The typos that were in the [square brackets] in the previous paragraph were remnants of typos that I made, and was tempted to delete the whole word.  But, I restored them to show the types of errors I might make that would result in full-word deletion.

[IUn] In some sense, I feel like it is less energy to delete the whole word and start over rather than to click …

{Noah’s attention was suddenly diverted by a very old black and orange [oragne] two-car train that just headed northbound outside his window.}

…at the transposition, or to hit the back arrow a few times to delete the few letters and [thgen] then reposition them.

Is this a common malady, or is it something that I just notice?

Let's have a conversation!

