[M.M.X.I.V. 2] BIL Marathon

I have played bridge on Bridge Base Online for several years now.  I am a member of the Beginner/Intermediate Lounge (BIL), for which the idea is basically written exactly on the tin.

Each year, they have a “Marathon”  for 72 hours, where at least one table stays open for the entirety of the Marathon, and other tables tend to come and go.  When I was online, there was a table that had run more than 500 boards in about 66 hours of play.  This is a pretty big thing, and even better, the members of BIL are courteous and fun to partner with and/or play against.

Although I try to have fun when playing Bridge Base Online regardless of whether I am in the Main Bridge Club or the BIL or the IAC (Intermediate/Advanced Club), I find that I enjoy it the most playing with BILlies.  Not only are they more often near my level of expertise in bridge, but the zero-tolerance policy of the club forbids boorish behavior and rage-quitting in the middle of the hand, which I have unfortunately witnessed a lot in the Main Bridge Club.

Although playing face-to-face bridge is always more fun than playing online, BBO is a great way to meet people from around the world.  Maybe I’ll see some of them if I ever get to go to some more regional or national tournaments!

===========================

Today is the second day of M.M.X.I.V. That makes two days.

Let's have a conversation!

