[M.M.X.I.V. 6] Bonus vacation!

When I flew into Lincoln for my winter break, my plane was delayed by about an hour.  I framed it as a sacrifice so that Casey would avoid the ACTHD (Angry Casey-Travelling Hating Deity… OK, that doesn’t roll off the tongue as nicely as AIRBHG).

At the end of the vacation (i.e. yesterday), my plan was to go to Omaha with Mom, Dad, and Levi, have lunch with my aunts, uncles, and cousins from Omaha, and then to go to Eppley Airfield to fly back to Chicago.

After a slow start to the day, I realized that I didn’t have my signature purple-white-red scarf.  So, we made a detour to the office–search failed!  Another place I might have left it: Valentino’s, which turned out to be where I left it.  But we had insufficient time to pick it up.

Not far away, however, on 84th Street, my phone went crazy with announcements: Ulpan cancelled Monday.  Northwestern closed Monday.  Northwestern women’s basketball game postponed.  Recalling that Southwest Airlines gave me an opportunity to change my flight to another available date and time (some restrictions apply) with no penalty, Mom convinced me to stay in Nebraska another day or two.  So, therefore I postponed my vacation’s end from Sunday at 18:55 to Tuesday at 16:20.  BONUS VACATION TIME!

The rest of the day in Omaha, therefore, was pressure-free.  Unfortunately, half of my Omaha family was not at the lunch, because they were “stuck” on vacation in a tropical locale.  Still, it was good to see whom I was able to see.  We also got some cold-weather implements at Cabela’s, had dinner at The Cheesecake Factory, and dropped Levi off at his house before Mom, Dad, and I returned to Lincoln.  However, the scarf pickup mission failed.  I can get it today or tomorrow!

Interestingly, this is the third time that I have had a school break extended by weather.  The long weekend that ended the first quarter of 1997-98 was super-extended by the October Storm of 1997.  Then, in 2006, my spring break was extended by two days.  Although in both of those cases, I was “in town” with the extension of those breaks.

And, I’ve been attempting to get back into research today.  But it has not been easy, as my mind is in a weird limbo: my break is “technically” over, but because I am still physically in my locale of vacation, my motivation is low.  Of course, this is a difficulty that I must overcome!

The difficulty there is worth it, since I get to spend some extra time in the presence of my parents.  The readers probably know by now that I am a family man.

And tomorrow, I return to Chicago, unless I further anger the ACTHD…

===========================

Today is the sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes six days.

One thought on “[M.M.X.I.V. 6] Bonus vacation!

Let's have a conversation!

