[M.M.X.I.V. 10] Hot water, cold water

Last night, after the Northwestern-Purdue basketball game, I drank some water from the fountain, and it was ice-cold and refreshing after I had nearly melted during the basketball game from cheering and dancing.  Not to mention that it was really hot in the gym.

However, when I got home, I took a warm shower.  Is there something wrong with that picture?

I wonder why it is that we like cold water for drinking but not for bathing or swimming, and that we like warm or hot water for swimming and bathing, but not for drinking.

And this holds true for me even in the winter.  I think that drinking cold water, regardless of the time of the year, quenches my thirst much more than warm water.  It may just be a psychological thing, but I am incredibly dissatisfied when I drink water from a fountain and it comes out warm.  I rated every water fountain that I drank from on campus at UNL, and the best one was always the fountain in the Neihardt lobby–invariably cold and refreshing.

Any other ideas?  This isn’t as insightful of a post as yesterday’s, but sometimes I just want to post an observation rather than an essay.  (Plus, I can’t spend too much time on these posts since blogging is merely a hobby for me!)

===========================

Today is the tenth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes one week and three days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 10] Hot water, cold water

  1. Well just to throw a spanner into your works, I have to admit to drinking hot water, boiled straight from the kettle! But just in case you are thinking that I might like to have a cold shower……no I like them hot too! J x

    Like

    • Joy,

      Thanks for reading! There are some liquids that I like drinking hot, such as tea or hot chocolate. But plain water I only like drinking at room temperature or colder. Everyone is different!

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

