[M.M.X.I.V. 13] On comments and likes

%% LyX 2.0.0 created this file. For more info, see http://www.lyx.org/.

%% Do not edit unless you really know what you are doing.

\documentclass[12pt,english]{article}

\usepackage[T1]{fontenc}

\usepackage[latin9]{inputenc}

\usepackage[letterpaper]{geometry}

\geometry{verbose,tmargin=1in,bmargin=1in,lmargin=1in,rmargin=1in}

\usepackage{amsthm}

\usepackage{amsmath}

\usepackage{amssymb}

\usepackage{esint}

\PassOptionsToPackage{normalem}{ulem}

\usepackage{ulem}

 

\makeatletter

\@ifundefined{date}{}{\date{}}

\makeatother

 

\usepackage{babel}

\begin{document}

\begin{comment}

Today’s post is based off the Zero to Hero prompt #12.  Yesterday, the prompt was to read three other blogs and leave comments.  Today’s prompt:

[W]rite a post that builds on one of the comments you left yesterday. Don’t forget to link to the other blog!

On Ana Lynn’s Blogging Adventures, I responded to her Zero to Hero post yesterday.  The gist of the article was about the idea of spreading your wings, so to speak, in reading blogs that you might not always consider reading.  As she says, “Commenting is a way to grow your community.”

My comment on her post was,

In some sense, since my blog tends to have no particular theme to it other than being a constant slice of my life, I feel comfortable reading or at least considering most blogs.
I enjoyed your post, and in some sense, I almost feel the need to comment on a post if it moved me in any way, or gives me ideas for posts of my own. I’d rather leave a comment than just a seemingly ambiguous “like.”

To which she responded,

Likes are good, but comments are always better ^^. Unless you get struck by a random spurt of shyness and back out like I am known to do. Then likes are a way to go.

On Facebook, I am more likely to “like” something than to comment on it (pun not intended).  There are some posts on which I will leave comments in lieu of likes, but not as often.

The way that I interpret a “like” on Facebook, sometimes, is “I’ve seen it.”  Likes on negative news tend to be viewed as sympathies.  For example, when I posted on Facebook about my bike crash in November of 2011, it obtained 16 likes and 35 comments, most of the type “I’m so glad you’re okay!” and “Glad you were wearing a helmet!”

However, if a comment is left on Facebook, it expands on the like, and possibly goes into a conversation.  Words are more powerful than likes in expanding a social interaction.

This further carries into blogs.  I am very sparing with hitting the like button, preferring to leave a comment (in some sense, I will not hit “like” without leaving a comment or a pingback).  This does several things–it shows more genuine engagement with the prompt (especially if the comment is more than just an “I agree,” or “Great post!”), gives a face to a name, and invites a conversation.  My policy is to respond to every non-spam comment, and the “Great post!” tends to only get a “Thanks for reading” response.

One of my favorite lines from Ana’s post was, “it’s all about expanding your community, getting to know like-minded people and forming relationships that might turn into real life friendships (stranger things have happened, believe me!)”  Although none of my Internet connections have become real-life connections, there is nothing saying that they can’t.  For example, someone that I often see on Bridge Base Online lives in Chicago in the summer, and I am going to arrange a time to play bridge with her this summer!

//But, I can’t have a blog post using the word “comment” without a couple extra lines.

% You know, the broken code or stuff that you’re temporarily hiding.

(*Yet, there can still be different ways of denoting a comment.*)

\end{comment}

Good thing this isn’t run through a LaTeX editor–it would probably only print this line at best!

\end{document}

===========================

Today is the thirteenth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes one week and six days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 13] On comments and likes

  1. I think you have made an important, and reassuring, point here, Noah – and I loved the phrase you used: ‘words are more powerful than likes in expanding a social interaction.’ So true! I do wonder sometimes if the worry some of us experience about numbers (hits and likes mainly) comes, originally, from the school system and its inherent competitiveness. Thank you for this piece; it has given me a new slant on an old anxiety.

    Like

    • Thanks, Alienora! Indeed, I feel that the competitiveness of the school system leads to an obsession with the quantitative, and I can still be guilty of that.

      The line that you pointed out, however, strikes a chord, as after all, it was your comment on my “Social periphery” post which started our blogging interactions, instead of a like!

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

