[M.M.X.I.V. 18] PBC

From my journal on Monday, a few of the bullet points in my journal led me to think about today’s post, on an acronym that has two very different meanings.

  •  Keer: It’s the strip with PBC, I feel…
  • PBCs (ha) for lunch
  • BLOG POST!  PBC and PBC.

Clearly, the PBC in the first line is different from the PBC in the second line.  In the first line, it refers to when I called my advisor to discuss my progress in research.  The PBC here refers to Periodic Boundary Conditions, and are likely necessary to solve the problem.  This does make sense, of course, since my work is on a periodic domain.  However, formulating said conditions is easier said than done.

The second line, well, does it make sense at all to be eating periodic boundary conditions?  What would that even mean?  (Maybe I should blog about that later :)).  Nope, instead it’s a lunch item that has been a staple of mine ever since seventh grade: Peanut Butter Crackers.  And not the Austin’s brand or similar: with crackers and peanut butter separately, I create mini-sandwiches (usually six of them).

Before seventh grade, a common lunch of mine was peanut butter sandwiches.  But by the time that I was promoted from Humann Elementary School to Pound Middle School, I began to get very tired of peanut butter sandwiches.  I think part of the reason was that I started to develop a distaste for white bread (though I don’t have any sort of gluten intolerance to the best of my knowledge.)  But one day, Mom suggested peanut butter on Ritz crackers, and that idea stuck.

Therefore, PBCs became a staple of my “cold lunches” at school, throughout the remainder of my career as a secondary student.  I didn’t get horrendously tired of them or want to switch to a different food, since sometimes I had Chex mix (homemade, of course) or beef jerky to mix it up.  And of course, when they had creamed turkey, chili, or Mexican straw hats/taco crunch, I ate the “hot lunch.”

Between seventh grade and June 26, 2008, I don’t think I ate a single peanut butter sandwich.  That day was the REU canoe trip, and at the landing point, we had PBJ sandwiches on wheat bread.  It tasted good, and convinced me that I should try them again.  They are now a reasonably common staple in my diet for lunches at the office.

Readers: are there any multiple-acronyms that have much different meanings?  Think about it!

===========================

Today is the eighteenth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes two weeks and four days.

5 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 18] PBC

  1. Fascinating, Noah. We tend to take acronyms for granted, I think, and rarely think about what they mean – and how several different meanings can be attributed to the same three letters. I’ll have a think about specific examples: I know I have noticed some in the past; I just need to retrieve them from my cranial hard drive!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

