[M.M.X.I.V. 23] January 21 post revisited

I posted a picture with a small caption on my January 21 post, and for Zero to Hero exercise #21, I am instructed to write a post inspired by that post.  Well, I had turned it into a trivia question, but I wanted to expand on it, by adding motivation for it.

This may turn into an unfocused post, but in some sense, the motivation is January 21, and I’ll almost treat it as a Freewrite (but not directly since I just decided this).

(Plus, it’s Thursday, which means #tbt on some social networks.)

So, the picture that I showed on Tuesday was the picture of a couch just outside the Selleck dining hall at UNL.  Normally, the white circular thing (table? ottoman? other?) was positioned closer to the alcove (say, on the horizontal axis where the chair is).  But, one day, I noticed that I could creatively move the white whatchamadeelie (thanks, Dad for that word) into the pattern.  Indeed, to me, the couch plus the (footstool?) looked to me like a question mark!

So, I figured that I would talk a bit about photographs.  I have sometimes had phases of liking photos, and other phases of not… or at least taking them.  During the summer of 2008, using my cell phone, I took quite a few photos of sights that intrigued me–whether they be signs, oddities, or my own creations.  Weirdness and creativity and directions seem to be a big thing for the photographic things that interest me.  Many of my photos don’t have people in them, as I am not a fan of posed photos–I’d rather see people in action (talking, playing sports, or just basically unaware of the camera).

People’s best expressions come out when they are unforced, I feel.  I think I have a great smile naturally, but if I am forced (i.e. posed), it often tends to be very cheesy, tilde-like (although maybe that ties in with this post too…)  For example, compare me in these two photos:

Photo of my room with me, the last time it was purple.

Me in a posed photo, in my bedroom in Lincoln (also the last time that I saw the room with its purple walls). Notice the “tilde” shape on my smile.

Thanks, Carly, for capturing me walking down the stairs, wearing this "mohawk."  Notice the more "natural" smile (yes, with mouth agape).  I was walking when the picture was taken.

Thanks, Carly, for capturing me walking down the stairs, wearing this “mohawk.” Notice the more “natural” smile (yes, with mouth agape). I was walking when the picture was taken.

I like the second one more than the first, because in some sense, the latter is an “action” shot.  Although posing for pictures is fun, I rather enjoy photos in action.  It’s a timing thing, however… if you’re too late, the moment passes (or they notice you’re taking a photo).  Too early might not work either.

However, the reason that I had this post was to describe the “funny” stuff that I like to take pictures of.  One of those things: material on my chalkboard.  Consider this, and please leave comments for me!

This caption is intentionally left blank.  What does it make you think of?

This caption is intentionally left blank. What does it make you think of?

===========================

Today is the twenty-third day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes three weeks and two days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 23] January 21 post revisited

  1. I think the traffic light idea is great, Noah, because it conveys, instantly, the message, ‘Stop!’ and is unambiguous in a way that words are not! Love the photos of you, by the way. Yes, the second one is more natural, but, since you are a blogger, there was something nice about the pen-in-hand pose.

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

