[M.M.X.I.V. 32] Zero to Hero – A reflection

Over the last 20 days, I condensed a 30-day challenge by attempting mad catch-up when I first discovered “Zero to Hero.”

Thankfully, some of the earlier tasks were things that I had already done, such as creating my first post, creating an “About” page, following some other bloggers, and considering my theme.

The change of theme was something that I found actually very useful.  On the old theme, I had the background of a sample of my journal, but found that with some of the other themes, that I could emphasize the words on my posts, and leave my journal as a header image.  The creation of a “brand” also encouraged me to change the site’s name from “noah121weiss” to “Never A Worry.”  The latter is interesting, as the letters correspond to my monogram, and really does say something about my personality.  (Yes, I do have worries, but I attempt to not let them define me.  Everybody has (worries and) problems–thanks Merlin!)

Prior to this year, most of my posts were based on my own whims, and I usually posted once to twice a week on average.  Sometimes there would be two weeks between posts, but I always posted in May (M.A.P.L.E.) and October (O.C.T.O.B.E.R.).  The first time I used The Daily Post’s daily prompt was in October of last year, when the prompt “First!” inspired me to write my Throwback Thursday post a day early.

Yet, after doing Zero to Hero, especially since I am attempting to journal every day, I see the merit in looking at others’ blogs, daily prompts, and other ways of inspiring a post.  Since I can find things to talk about with almost anything, you never know what will come from an inspiration.  (I think another bonus of this was that I get more readers when I have participated in a challenge that I ping back.)

Commenting and building a community: it is something that I have done sparingly when reading blogs, prior to Zero to Hero.  Again, just like the previous paragraph, comments can be inspirations for new posts, praise, or constructive criticism, among others.  I have started taking the stance that I notice from some other personal bloggers–they seem to respond to almost every comment.  It’s a way to start a conversation, and build a bond with other blogs.

Although I was sometimes hesitant or delinquent on some of the posts and tasks, I found the whole experience to be very helpful for my blogging skills.  It has opened avenues for ideas, expanded my community in blogging, and given me plenty of ideas to think about.  Though my next month’s writing may be mostly freewriting/unprompted, the flexibility with a post every day means that I can use the Drafts when I see an idea that I want to let simmer.

The future of this blog is bright!  I wouldn’t be prepared to call myself a “Hero” yet–it’s an ongoing process.  Let’s enjoy the ride together!

===========================

Today is the thirty-second day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes four weeks and four days.

Let's have a conversation!

