[M.M.X.I.V. 34] Musical memories shuffle XVI

Maybe I’ll try to make posts every Monday relating to something with music.  Yes, it’s probably something that’s been done on other blogs, but having some structure in my posts might be helpful to keep me on task.  But, without further ado, the shuffle is on!

Links to the songs are provided when possible.  If this is problematic, I can remove them.

1) Eye of the Tiger by Survivor.  When I was on the Wrigley Field Road Tour, I, and a few of my fellow riders, had just gotten back on the road after a quick rest stop on the south side of Milwaukee.  There was a somewhat difficult hill along the lakeside.  Throughout the ride, I was singing songs, sometimes in my head, and sometimes aloud.  Well, this song was my idea for this hill, but I was quickly shushed by one of my teammates who had heard enough.

2) Greensleeves arr. by Mason Williams/Mannheim Steamroller.  There’s nothing in particular that stands out about this song, but it does remind me of Classical Gas from the same compilation.

3) והאר עינינו מאשת חיל (“And Enlighten Our Eyes” by Eishet Chayil): It’s a “house-ified” version of the prayer אהבה רבה that is said in the morning just before the שמע (ex. on page 98 of the 1985 edition of Siddur Sim Shalom).  I heard it, naturally, on Radio Lev Hamedina.  The tune is the same as what I normally sing in services, but with the differences in being a pumped-up version. The song reminds me, obviously, of Hebrew school.  (It’s one of my favorite tunes of the morning service.)

4) That’s All by Genesis.  This was one of the first songs that I heard by Genesis, as well as one of my “starter set” of MP3s.  However, there’s no specific memory of when it came into my head or was particularly salient otherwise.

5) Sarah Says by Falldown.  Clearly, hearing this song reminds me of all the Falldown concerts that I have attended.  In particular, the first one that I attended was on February 25, 2012, in the sense of a mini-mini Shorashim reunion–Jared and Sarah were the only ones who I saw there that night.  But it was good to see them again, and I didn’t realize immediately that the song was dedicated to her until after the show.

6) Right Now by Van Halen.  This was often a staple canned song at the Husker sporting events.  One particular instance that stuck out to me was the Nebraska-Texas football game in 2006.  Texas had taken a timeout, flurries were flying, and they had to punt.  Unfortunately, a fumble on the punt gave Texas the ball back, as they went on to kick the game-winning field goal.  The Huskers football team never could get over the hump against the Longhorns…

7) September by Earth Wind & Fire.  My main memory from this song is in the tenth post, but I have also heard the song in movies (if I remember correctly, Night at the Museum), which was one of my favorite Christmas movies of which my family has attended.

8) Fantastic Voyage by Lakeside.  I always liked the funky sounds of this song, but the band’s name means that I sometimes sing it when riding on the Lakefront Trail, and/or when I do Bike The Drive each year.  After all, what’s more fantastic than riding your bike carefree on the lakeside?

9) Loves Me Like A Rock by Paul Simon.  This song played on my radio en route to home before my family left for Arnie and Julie’s wedding in 2005.  Is that coincidental, or was there more to it? :p

10) Gold Dust Woman by Fleetwood Mac.  This song is memorable because of a personal Mondegreen (misheard lyric).  The actual line: “Shatter your illusions of love,” and I thought it said “Shadow your illusions alone.”  Thinking about that now, what would that even mean…?

11) Cold and Gloomy from Dragon Quest VIII.  This is the theme that plays in cave and dungeon areas.  It is very apt, and I like how the music gets more threatening the deeper in the dungeon that you go.  It is an orchestrated version, and I wonder what went through the minds of the performers as they played the song?  (Oh, and the percussion that resembles water drips are also perfect for the area.)

12) Rainbow Seeker by Joe Sample.  This is from the Weather Channel II CD.  It sometimes plays in my head, not after rainstorms, but the peaceful nature of it tends to play when I am riding my bike in nice weather.  My favorite part of the song is the staccato-legato at about the 3:10 mark.

13) Overkill by Ministry.  I heard this song on Pandora, and I enjoyed the guitar and somewhat shrill background sound that plays throughout the song to imply the danger within the lyrics.  However, I didn’t realize until much later how nasty the lyrics of the song are.  But, of course, it’s usually the melody and sounds that makes a song pleasing to me.

14) The Next Time I Fall by Peter Cetera/Amy Grant.  Like a Chicago song, the background melody is soft and pleasing to me.  I particularly like the duet of this song, although there is no particular memory that is associated with the song… yet.  Who knows–if at some point infatuation overtakes me, I would not be surprised if this song plays in my head.

15) Popcorn by Hot Butter.  My siblings mentioned and played this song, in a-cappella style one night when we were driving to eat at the Great China Buffet (which is now Sakura China just south of Gateway Mall).  However, that evening my stomach was feeling a little weird (it was November 9, 2002).  I didn’t have any ill effects, but was definitely suffering from irregularity-induced anorexia.  (Thankfully, that did not provoke a Garcia effect with hearing this song!)

An interesting mix that came up today.  Hope you enjoyed it, with the links when possible!

===========================

Today is the thirty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes four weeks and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

