[M.M.X.I.V. 49] Interviews

Both universities that I have attended (University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and Northwestern University) have journalism schools.  I would assume that all journalism schools require the students to go on “fieldwork” in order to obtain stories through interviews.

However, when I was at UNL, I was only once interviewed by a journalism student.  This is not a knock on the school, as it is also true that it is much easier to find interviewees in a 20,000-person school than an 8,000-person school.  Granted, I also was not as socially active there as I am currently at Northwestern.

At Northwestern, however, Medill (the journalism school) makes a strong presence on campus.  I would estimate that I am interviewed at least twice a year.  Some of them are recommendations from other Medill students to ask me about Asperger syndrome.  Some of them have interviewed me about my SuperFan status.  Some interviews have come about from being in the “right place at the right time.”  Philanthropies, Challah For Hunger, and Bridge Club have all been places that I have been interviewed at Northwestern.

I am probably an unorthodox interviewee on campus, as a socially-involved graduate student.  However, my experiences can provide different perspectives from the traditional students.  And, I love speaking my mind!

===========================

Today is the forty-ninth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes seven weeks.  (The count doesn’t end here, unlike the omer.)

Let's have a conversation!

