[M.M.X.I.V. 56] Hot and Cool

The title is NOT a Katy Perry song.  It is a Rick Derringer song, but the main point is something else.  (However, because of my idea for this post, “Hot and Cool” was my Sunny-Side Up request for today–it’s a great smooth jazz song!)

During the winter, it gets cold outside (duh).  Thermal relativity, however, definitely can take place.  (I mentioned this also in a previous post.)  The days that got above freezing after the polar vortices in Chicago were times that I was halfway tempted to go outside in shorts and a T-shirt (no jacket).  Of course, I still did wear the jacket, but reduced to a lighter jacket rather than the Omni-Heat one.

Last week, I went to the Searle teaching certificate program seminar, and for the first time in the series, it was in a boardroom of Searle instead of the Graduate Student Commons.  I sat on the south side of the room, which was near the windows.  The sun was brightly shining through, which means that although it was not “that” warm outside (although the temperature did hit 10 Celsius that day!) the sunlight made the room (and that seat in particular) a little warm for my liking–they opened the window for us.

The first time that I can remember this effect happening: once when I lived in Fort Dodge, we had lunch at the Tom Thumb restaurant near The Fort on a sunny winter day.  Despite it being cold outside, the direct sunlight coming in from the domed windows warmed me up, combined with the heater in the restaurant.  I did not particularly like that sensation, maybe because of the strange juxtaposition of thermal effects.

What are your thoughts about direct sunlight when it is cold outside?

===========================

Today is the fifty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes eight weeks.

One thought on “[M.M.X.I.V. 56] Hot and Cool

Let's have a conversation!

