[M.M.X.I.V. 58] Noah

There indeed is a reason why I reserved this post for this name.  It is post number 58 in the series, i.e. נ’ח.  And without the apostrophe, that is how my name is spelled in Hebrew.

It is based off the word נוח, which means “comfortable” or “comfort.”  (The Biblical name seems to be more derived from the verb לנוח “to rest.”)  In some sense, I feel like my name suits me very well in several respects.

“Comfortable” is definitely a way that I can describe myself.  I have found that I tend to be happy wherever I live after having lived there for a little while.  In other words, I seem to acclimate quickly and become comfortable in my surroundings.  Granted, I have never lived in a “sketchy” area, so that comfort could definitely be tested in a new place later on.

At home, I love the comfortable feeling.  Blankets, warm shirts, and family time are all very much a part of my psyche, and all of these easily associate with the word “comfort.”  It reminds me of one time when I refused to take off my jacket at the Fort Dodge Country Club while eating, because it was almost a security implement for me.  But, I don’t think that I threw a fit or was asked to leave.  This was a long time ago.

As I have alluded to in some previous posts, although I can sometimes be on the social periphery, I generally feel comfortable with my position on the sideline.  Sometimes, that allows me benefits of the ingroup without the drama and politics of being actually inside.  I am most comfortable in situations that are stable, and drama can sometimes be either a symptom or a precursor to instability.  Sometimes, I wonder whether people feel an aura of comfort in my presence…?

The “rest” root, however, doesn’t seem to fit me at all!  From my posts and words, you can probably tell that I am very active, and indeed, my days are chock-full of activity.  Yet, maybe it does work for me, since I will rest at night, and am fairly regimented about it.

Interestingly, despite the number 58 being “my number,” it has not really entered my realm of favorite numbers like 21, 121, and 64 have.  I wonder what situations involving “58” will cause it to jump into that realm?

One idea: as I mentioned in a previous post, my Math Jersey number is 29, and double that is 58.

Other ideas as to how 58 might become my one of my favorite numbers?  I am open to suggestions.

===========================

Today is the fifty-eighth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes eight weeks and two days.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 58] Noah

  1. When I came across “I generally feel comfortable with my position on the sideline”, I was suddenly reminded of the perks of being a wallflower. Not the book or movie, mind you.
    In my experience, there was just less hassle when you’re with people who weren’t under the spotlight. And I like that.

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

