[M.M.X.I.V. 83] Ghost town

For the name of this post, I have a song which I think was a one-hit wonder in the ’90s, and I liked the beat and melody of the song.  (As usual, I didn’t pay any attention to the lyrics.)  I haven’t heard it on the radio in a LONG time, however…

This post, however, is NOT about the song (of course :p).

This week is spring break for the Northwestern campus.  I am taking a “stay-cation” and will probably still be working hard this week–the weather in Chicago does not tend to call for very nice outdoor weather, unfortunately.  Go figure!

I noticed, on campus last week, that the number of people that I saw walking around diminished each day from Monday to Friday.  Perhaps this was also another reason for my down-ness on Wednesday?  Many students left for spring break once they finished their last exams, and who wouldn’t?

Well, when I was an undergraduate, my only spring break trips were to Colorado (to visit NIST and JILA, not for skiing :p), or Chicago (Fermilab, Argonne National Lab, and Northwestern).  Otherwise, I hung out in Lincoln and just took it easy.  The stereotypical “sun, sex, booze” spring break trips held (and still hold) absolutely zero appeal to me!

I don’t know about Northwestern, but when I was at UNL, the dorms (except for one or two) closed for the break, forcing on-campus students to leave.  Therefore, I assume this is similar at Northwestern, but even so, there was very little activity on campus today.

It is definitely a paradigm shift from the busy activity on campus during the regular school year.  Although I would guess that it’s even deader on campus during the winter break–I have never stuck around to see, though :p

For some reason, I feel that my motivation in an academic environment is higher when there are other students around.  This is not a scientific observation, but it seems to be the case for me.

===========================

Today is the eighty-third day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes eleven weeks and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

