[M.M.X.I.V. 84] Curfew violation!

OK.  I am a 26-year old, and yet I have a self-imposed curfew.  And I inadvertently-advertently (!?) violated it last night!

I may have previously described this in my blog, but I am usually not a night person.  Therefore, the self-imposed curfew is mostly an order of protection against myself, so that I can sleep at my residence or designated lodging when I get tired rather than risk having to fall asleep elsewhere, such as a train or bus.

If I KNOW that I will be out and up late (e.g. out and not returning home until 00:30 or later, such as for a bar night with colleagues), I take a power nap in the middle of the day.  But yesterday, I had just gotten back to Evanston from Chicago and my Hebrew class.  I went to a friend’s pad for board game club (which would normally be at the Norris Student Center and end by 23:59).  However, because this is spring break, the friend’s pad was the venue, and there was no time limit, other than my own endurance.

So, I played a yet-unreleased game (it will officially debut at GenCon this year), and had a good time.  However, I did incredibly poorly, not because I was tired, but because I drew poorly after a good first turn, and my strategies got constantly disrupted.  (I suppose that tiredness may have played a factor as well, but when a deck draws poorly, that’s also something that prevents you from doing much).

However, the game dragged on.  I thought that it would take about an hour (the game started at about 23:00), but it took more than two hours!  For those of you keeping track at home, it was 01:15 when the game finished.  Yet, I still had enough energy to return home, and encountered no crazy characters on the way home.  Evanston mostly DOES sleep at night!

What amazed me most was the fact that I didn’t crash (i.e. run out of energy).  Mind over matter is definitely true–I feel that a strong mind can overcome tiredness for a while.  Is that how Dance Marathon participants manage to get through 30+ consecutive hours of dancing and being awake?

Yet, I was only able to sleep in until 08:00 this morning.  I may have to take a power nap in the middle of the day today!  The good thing: I can therefore make this a “justified” day to play hooky from the office 🙂

EDIT/ADDENDUM: As it turns out, the number of this post is also another thing about being up in the wee hours of the morning.  When I was younger, some of our Omaha or Fort Dodge return trips would end up returning to Lincoln past midnight.  As I was able to sleep in the van, it was not uncommon for me to “naturally” (?) wake up at some point that we were on 84th Street in Lincoln.

Does this addendum mean that I was meant to hyperextend my curfew last night…?

===========================

Today is the eighty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twelve weeks.

Let's have a conversation!

