[M.M.X.I.V. 85] מה יהיה יהיה (post is in English)

Today’s Daily Prompt was called “Que Sera Sera”, so I decided to make the title of my post the same thing… but in HEBREW!  (It is pronounced mah yihiyeh yihiyeh).

Do I believe in fate or free will?  In some sense, I believe in a combination of both.  There are many times when I may plan something and then change plans spontaneously, OR go on a whim.  I think that both of these are signs of controlling one’s own destiny.  If all of life were based on some predetermined destiny, it’s just too weird to describe.

Granted, the random events which happen sometimes seem like fate.  I was evidently fated not to die when I was hit by a car on November 22, 2011.

Additionally, I feel that friendships and acquaintanceships that reunite after a long hiatus are more based on fate than necessarily based on choice.  Oftentimes, I find that they are not mutual–perhaps it is free will to one person and fate to another!

One of my friends, Eitan, I met at services at Hillel in June of 2011 when he was in Evanston for a summer internship.  Then, in 2012, he came to Northwestern for a Masters program, and we (re)met at services for ראש השנה (Rosh Hashanah). However, he is about to move to Colorado to continue the job search, so it was good that we rendezvoused yesterday for lunch.  When we were done, I took into account the quote from Sunny-Side Up’s finale (partial courtesy J.M. Barrie):

“‘Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.’ Instead of ‘goodbye’ … I always say ‘see you.’ … You’ll find a way one way or another … if your paths are meant to cross, they will cross! … Never goodbye, only see you.”

My parents think that the perfect person is going to find me, rather than the other way around, and that seems like letting fate decide for me.

It is a very interesting philosophical question, but at this point, I want to spend my head-bashing effort for the day by focusing on the work for my doctorate of philosophy, despite not actually working in philosophy!

===========================

Today is the eighty-fifth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twelve weeks and one day.

Here are the other posts that have responded to this prompt as of 20:48 Central Daylight Time.

  1. THE JOYS OF SPINSTERHOOD aka The Spinsterhood of the Travelling Bridesmaid | She Writes
  2. SOCIETY’S CREATION: BEAUTY STANDARDS | She Writes
  3. Impressions of poverty | AS I PLEASE
  4. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera- Why we don’t achieve our goals | Journeyman
  5. It’s Your Choice | Musings | WANGSGARD
  6. Is it a destiny I control or fate or a bit of both? | Purplesus’ Blog
  7. Daily Prompt…. Que Sera Sera? | The Ambitious Drifter
  8. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  9. We are what we are | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  10. “Que Sera Sera” – A poem | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  11. Taking Control – Character’s Choices Shape Stories, Not Fate | My Little Avalon
  12. Invictus? I think not…. | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  13. destiny | yi-ching lin photography
  14. Life of Positivity | Views Splash!
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Qeu Sera Sera | Sabethville
  16. on a scale from walking | y
  17. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera « cognitive reflection
  18. Destiny | swiggityswag
  19. Anthem of the oppressed | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  20. Danube | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  21. Who protects me? | wisskko’s blog
  22. In Search of the Star: A Filipino Catholic from Saudi Meets an American Jew from Bosotn | Kosher Adobo
  23. Daily prompt: Que sera sera | I really just pretend to know stuff
  24. This Too Shall End | Losing It
  25. Daily Prompt: Que Pawera Pawera | Love your dog
  26. Que Sera Sera? | Hope* the happy hugger
  27. Zig-Zag « Averil Dean
  28. Fate had naff-all to do with that. And OMG but T2 was freaking awesome… | thoughtsofrkh
  29. Zombie Planes and Fate: Driving My Life with Purpose « psychologistmimi
  30. Fate, Faith and Excuses (Or the Man With the Funny Hat) | jigokucho
  31. Choose, but Choose Wisely | Green Embers
  32. I Had BEST See A Return On My Investment!!!! | Because It Calms My Nerves:
  33. Finding No Such As ‘Fate’ | Awake & Dreaming
  34. Daily Prompt: Fate vs. Free Will | Raevenly Writes
  35. “Kay who, who?” | Relax
  36. We do have choice | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  37. Call it what you will | From One Crazy Life To Another
  38. Whatever Will Be | Flowers and Breezes
  39. Fate, Destiny, Kismet – Love, Sex & Poetry (Daily Prompt – Que Sera Sera) | Linda Long Writes!
  40. of nasty things, like sex and masturbation | Anawnimiss
  41. God And Fish and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  42. Fate or Destiny? | The Land Slide Photography
  43. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. What ever wil be will be (if we will it to be) | Move Away From Here
  45. Whatever will be will be | Willow’s Corner
  46. Old Soul: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  47. Jk109
  48. Fated for Happiness | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  49. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Ramblings of A Nonsensical Nerd
  50. What Will be, Will be? | Cheri Speak
  51. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera « Mama Bear Musings
  52. Waiting for the rain | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  53. Fate Chance Luck | Real Life Co.
  54. “Just Do It” But Hope for A Little Bit of Luck | Parents Are People Too
  55. Un Poco (a little) | djgarcia94
  56. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | My Atheist Blog
  57. DAILY PROMPT: Que Sera Sera, Siempre por Siempre | Fit 4 Life, LLC
  58. I Control My Life | Knowledge Addiction
  59. This Post Comes with a Warning Label . . . | janeyinmersin
  60. the way you do the things you do | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  61. Que Sera Sera | manmadeoceans
  62. You can’t sit forever on destiny’s safe little shelf – | The Flavored Word
  63. Destiny? | Tea & Paper
  64. Daily Prompt: March 26 | Balmy Life
  65. Que Sera Sera | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  66. I Believe in Resillence….(WP Daily Prompt) | Daily Observations
  67. Everything Has Changed | A Good One
  68. Textured Captures: Sand & Stone | LenzExperiments
  69. when you leave, i imagine | y
  70. Fate or Destiny…Can It Be Controlled? | Our Baby Dreams
  71. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera – I Quit My Job | A Note From Jenn
  72. Daily Prompt: Time Can’t Be Rewritten | Blackbird’s Nest
  73. Daily Prompt: Passenger Seat | Cabernet In The Dark
  74. Fated? | Kate Murray
  75. I control my destiny | Asianchemnerd
  76. Daily Prompt: Being Destined! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  77. Moments of Fate | A.C. Melody
  78. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | hlpetersen
  79. Luck lurks | Emotional Fitness
  80. Que Sera Sera (Daily Prompt) | Roving Bess
  81. Que Sera Sera | fromdublintoparis
  82. Old Faces | Writing and Works
  83. Who’s that knocking on the door? | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  84. My Choices | My Author-itis
  85. B.Kaotic
  86. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Just Be V
  87. The illusion of Control | Living with Post Concussion Syndrome
  88. I’m a Freebird | Nodus Tollens
  89. Daily Prompt: Que sera, sera | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  90. When (Fate/Destiny, Choose One) Hands You Lemons… | by LRose
  91. A Few of My Favorite Things…. | Coffee Crumbs
  92. Sentimental Journey | Speculative Paradigm Shifts
  93. One man’s miracle… | Trucker Turning Write
  94. Day 85: Everything Happens For A Reason? | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  95. Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | genieve celada photography
  96. Que Sera Sera | Alexia Jones
  97. fate | make it happen. maybe?
  98. Fate Or Destiny Or Whatever? | Edward Hotspur
  99. Que Sera sera | Learning From Life
15 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 85] מה יהיה יהיה (post is in English)

  1. Pingback: B.Kaotic

Let's have a conversation!

