[M.M.X.I.V. 89] Texts, letters, talking

This is an adaptation of today’s Daily Post, on a part of the code by which I live.

In today’s society, it seems that many people prefer to use text messages or e-mails to carry on conversations… even when in immediate proximity!  The art of face-to-face or voice-to-voice conversations seems to be turning into a lost art, and I want to stay old-fashioned in that sense.  There is a lot of loss in translation from thoughts to texted words (as well as lost vowels, but that’s my inner pedant screaming!), and tone of voice often gets completely lost in text messages.

Although I have had a mobile phone since 2004, the plan was for phone calls only until 2008, when texting was added.  I remember once getting really scared when my phone vibrated unexpectedly and I saw that a text message was waiting for me, as I was afraid that my parents would kill me for amassing a text message charge.  It turns out it was a free text message from Alltel, so I didn’t get in trouble.

Even after my plan included text messaging, I was much more likely to make a phone call than to give a text message.  I was on an old phone that either had the peck-the-numbers-repeatedly-to-get-the-correct-letter, one letter at a time, or the somewhat unreliable T9word.  Maybe it was this inconvenience which turned me off from text messaging, or maybe it was something else.

When I got into grad school (September of 2009), it seemed that I was one of only a few students in my department without a smartphone.  My family jumped on that bandwagon in 2010, as I got it from Papa over that Thanksgiving weekend.  That opened up a whole new world of connectivity and distraction.

I have a few rules with the smartphone that I attempt to abide by, however, knowing that it can be a powerful tool or a powerful distraction.

  • I refuse to use it on Chicago Transit Authority property.  Even though smartphones seem to be ubiquitous right now, I do not want to be that unlucky person that an opportunistic thief jumps on.  (Advantage: my phone is not an iPhone).  (However, sometimes the temptation to pull it out for a few seconds is too great.)
  • In social situations, such as parties, I may have it on my person, but I sure as heck am not using it.
  • My cell phone usage is off-limits during meals with other people.  (I have another post planned about this at some point.)
  • If I have a choice between texting and calling, I will choose calling.

The latter bullet, especially.  The title of the post basically, from least preferred to most preferred, are how I like to communicate with people out of immediate proximity.  In some sense, the order given (texts, letters, talking) is in increasing order of individuality and personalization.  (Some might argue that a hand-written letter is even more personalized than a voice conversation).  Although I have not written many hand-written letters lately, I have recently thought more about it, and think that it is a very personalized and touching thing to consider.

Why is this an appropriate post for today?  It is my sisters’ birthday (quarter century apiece!) and I have made it a policy that for my Facebook friends whose phone numbers that I have, I will give them a phone call, in addition to a Facebook greeting.  If they are in my vicinity, I make an effort to greet them in person as well!  It is good to be thoughtful, and I feel that text messages are relatively bereft of personalization.

===========================

Today is the eighty-ninth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twelve weeks and five days.

Let’s take a look at some others’ codes.  This is Round Two: those that have addressed the prompt as of 12:56, Central Daylight Time on 31 March 2014:

  1. LOVE, SEX AND SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES [Reblog] | She Writes
  2. Life | Kate Murray
  3. Texting Or Talking? | The Jittery Goat
  4. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  5. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | mayeverydayahappyday
  6. Revelation | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Patriot | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  8. DP Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Sabethville
  9. Don’t be a d*ck. | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Walk the Line: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  11. do your best and leave the rest to fortuosity | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  12. This teacher’s code | One Educator’s Life
  13. Cherish Time | wisskko’s blog
  14. rivington | yi-ching lin photography
  15. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. My codes: A photo essay | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  17. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  18. Respect The Artist, Respect The Work | Goodnight Hestia
  19. Creed « Averil Dean
  20. Daily Prompt: I Walk The Line-Psychology: Understanding Why We Do What We Do | Journeyman
  21. Values For Sheen | Flowers and Breezes
  22. Codes 1, 2, and 3 | Among the Whispers
  23. What’s My Line(s)? | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  24. 287. The Moral Compass | Barely Right of Center
  25. Walking the Mommy Line While out on Business Travel « psychologistmimi
  26. What Would Life Be without Them? | Ms. Raven Marie
  27. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Completely Disappear
  28. A Marauder May be a Good Person in Disguise | Virginia Views
  29. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | My Atheist Blog
  30. We all have values | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  31. Taking Off My Shoes | Kosher Adobo
  32. Difference Engine | Speculative Paradigm Shifts
  33. life… ruless hahahaha.. it is wrekless | from dusk to dawn….
  34. Staying in Focus: Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line: Love Will Keep Us Together | Staying in Focus
  35. I Walk the Line (Daily Prompt) | Roving Bess
  36. I Walk the Line | The Nameless One
  37. Having power is not nearly as important as what you choose to do with it | An Upturned Soul
  38. Daily prompt – i walk the line | myjourneyeveryday
  39. There is a Bigger Picture.. | B.Kaotic
  40. Pizza’s and Such! | Views Splash!
  41. “Have You Done Your Chores?” | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  42. Where is the Line? | cateritforward
  43. Live life! | Always was a rebel…
  44. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Bob’s Blog-O-Rama
  45. Daily Prompt: I walk the line | Simply about Life
  46. Divergent in Photography and Thought | Pairings :: Art + What Goes With It
  47. An Uncomplicated Code | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  48. we are born to fail | Musings of a Random Mind
  49. The Power of Empathy | U Be Cute
  50. Former Corbett Admin Deputy Secretary Compares Lesbian to Anti-Semite
  51. The Ear of the Heart | djgarcia94
  52. The Inherent Inequality of Actions and Words | My Author-itis
  53. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | To Breathe is to Write
  54. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Endurance Training Institute
  55. Symmetry and Geometries | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  56. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Just Be V
  57. Daily Prompt: I Walk The Line | imagination
  58. So…This Is How I Roll | Cats, Coffee, And Life At Random
  59. My Bro Code | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  60. Instinct. | Trucker Turning Write
  61. The Woman in The Mirror |
  62. Words To Live By | 365 Days of Thank You
  63. I would be a writer (should be, could be, am) | keaneonlife
  64. Walk the Line: Daily Post | Destino
  65. I Walk the Line | manmadeoceans
  66. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Basically Beyond Basic
  67. Response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt from March 30, 2014: I Can’t Quit | authordustinweber
  68. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | My Weary Mind
  69. Daily Prompt: I Walk the Line | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  70. Daily Promt: This Much I Know | Morrighan’s Muse
  71. Sweat it Off | Simplexvita
  72. Nuggets. | To Love is to Serve
  73. 28 Life Lessons|Sometimes It’s a Bad Day | melissuhhsmiles
  74. Daily prompt: Where is The Line? | itsmayurremember
  75. Daily prompt: Cynical? Moi? | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  76. A Code of Living | Tonkadella’s Things in Life
  77. Dream Crusher or Granter? | Alexia Jones
  78. Career or Family…Choice is yours??? | FREE BIRD
  79. The Living Mirage
  80. My Ethics Go Up to Eleven | Be Less Amazing
  81. Values | Life is great
  82. 1 GIANT LEAP featuring Robbie Williams and Maxi Jazz, my culture | mandzmagee
20 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 89] Texts, letters, talking

    • Thank you! Indeed, each prompt has many different ways that the bloggers can take them. I thought that technology and communication was a salient thing to write about today.

      Like

  1. Noah, well done (as usual). I agree with you completely regarding the disappointing modern phenomena that people will focus on the cell phone to the exclusion of those in proximity. Ironically, I mentioned this in my response to this Daily Prompt as well, before I read your own response here. I guess great minds think alike!

    Like

  2. Technology has its own benefits and drawbacks, if it has distanced a few friends then it has brought many more through the convenience of connectivity it provides. Moreover, technology has given expressions to many otherwise voiceless people, I mean it provides a sound medium to introverts who are not comfortable with real world socializing.

    Like

    • That is a very interesting way of thinking about it. Indeed, it can be a boon for introverts, but I see even people that are very extroverted completely enraptured by technology in social situations.

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

