[M.M.X.I.V. 104] Anticipation as a distraction

It seems that I am always anticipating something with my busy schedule.  And this is maybe odd for me, since I like so much to live in the present!  Unfortunately for me, anticipation sometimes acts as a distractor from my work, particularly when whatever I am anticipating is imminent.  A few examples that I am about to give are all salient to today as well!

As a teaching assistant, I hold office hours weekly to answer questions of students in my class(es).  This quarter, the office hours are on Mondays from 14:00 to 16:00.  Because office hours are the drop-in style, I always have to anticipate that students will appear at any time during that time window.  I find that makes it difficult-to-impossible to focus on my research, since I could be interrupted at any point by a calculus question.  On some days, I can block out this distraction until a student arrives, but on other days, it doesn’t work.

Compounded on that today is the fact that I am handing out tickets to an event that happens on Thursday, and this is also the office-hour-style drop-in-and-pick-up schedule.  With both of these last two examples, the distraction is frequently looking over my shoulder (my back is to the door in the office’s setup), or getting startled if someone knocks on the door or walks in behind me!

And another anticipation-distraction canonical against me: anticipation for holidays or vacations.  Well, Passover starts tonight!  Not only am I distracted because of approaching any other holiday or vacation, but as I am the firstborn of my siblings, I am fasting!

Well, despite not taking a lunch break in order to eat today, I should get back to work since I will have to leave immediately following office hours to finish preparation for Passover.

חג כשר ושמח! (Have a kosher and happy holiday!)

=============================================

Today is the one hundred and fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fourteen weeks and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

