[M.M.X.I.V. 111] Forced-choice question

Consider the following forced-choice question.

Which is more likely to be productive, and why:

a) Working “continuously” on a single project on the whole day?

b) Working on multiple projects throughout the day?

I’ll give a brief answer, and as to why I gave it.  Sometimes, I tend to be one-dimensional in any given day with work, focusing only on research or only on TA duties.  Some days, I am either forced or choose to do several different types of tasks, whether that include prepping for a TA session, editing parts of my projects, doing research, and oftentimes these days also include social or errand-style activities.

Sometimes, the variety helps improve my concentration in any given thing, but the discontinuity will sometimes make it hard to shift.  The most difficult thing for me is overcoming an activation energy barrier, in general.

I’d love to know others’ thoughts on the matter.

================================================

Today is the one-hundred and eleventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifteen weeks and six days.

היום שישה ימים לעומר

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 111] Forced-choice question

  1. I don’t remember working on multiple stuff on just one day.
    But when I feel blocked – one way or another – I do other stuff that may inspire me again.
    Just be careful not to get too carried away that the distraction consumed the rest of the day.

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

