[M.M.X.I.V. 115] Two-by-two system

I found this post on Views Splash, and its answer is funny and perhaps surprising.  Although I normally wouldn’t use a reblog as my own post, I add something else to the post to make it my own: the last paragraph.

A mother is 21 years older than her son. In six years, the mother will be five times the age of her son.  Six years later, the mother will be 5 times the age of her son.

The question that I ask, however: What is the father of said child doing right now?

Note: You will still want to solve the two-by-two system of equations implied by the italicized text.  Another hint: the two variables are the ages of the mother and son, respectively.

Be sure to explain your answer using both equations and words!  Translating language into math back into language is an important skill!  Don’t let a dislike for math prevent you from solving this one!

=====================================================

Today is the one-hundred and fifteenth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes sixteen weeks and three days.

היום עשרה ימים, שהם שבוע אחד ושלושה ימים לעומר

6 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 115] Two-by-two system

Let's have a conversation!

