[M.M.X.I.V. 122 / M.A.P.L.E. III-2] Bad Boys

There are quite a few songs called “Bad Boys,” but the one that played to inspire the post was the one by the group Wham!.  So, let’s see what I can get out of it. How can it apply to me, being a usually good person?

Well, one thing that I have always wondered is why the “bad boys” always seem to get in the spotlight or why the phrase “nice guys finish last” is sometimes true?

I have heard that some of the aggression and bad behavior is in some twisted sense a mark of assertiveness and power.  These are also associated with authority, and people will easily yield to authority if in doubt.  This may be why people easily submit to bullying or abuse, because of the “bad boy’s” powerful influence over the person.

Of course, being a “bad boy” does not necessarily mean being a criminal or aggressive person.  What is “bad” to one person may be “good” to another.  Although I consider myself a good person, some people may take some of my quirks, such as tending to monopolize conversations, or frequently mishearing people, as a bad quality, or a sign of disrespect.

As with many things, everyone has sliding scales of different qualities: goodness, badness [Warning: Underfull \hbox (badness 10000)], respect, disrespect, assertiveness, and any other qualities.  In some sense, people may be initially attracted to badness of a person, and it’s only until later that they realize that goodness is really what they want.  By that time, however, it may be too late.

Maybe I’m a bad improvisor on this one, though, as I feel that this post was somewhat of an incoherent rant.  It is part of my frustration on research–I am SO CLOSE to getting somewhere, but there are all these little details which are producing large barriers.

========================================================

Today is the one-hundred and twenty-second day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes seventeen weeks and three days.

היום שיבעה-עשר יום, שהם שני שבועות ושלושה ימים לעומר

Today is the second day of M.A.P.L.E. III.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 122 / M.A.P.L.E. III-2] Bad Boys

  1. A brilliant, and fascinating, post, Noah; I really enjoyed reading it. I think your comments on bad boys are extremely perceptive: you show a depth of understanding that all too many people lack. Excellent!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

