[M.M.X.I.V. 126 / M.A.P.L.E. III-6] Morning Dance

In dance, the set of choreography is sometimes referred to as a “routine.”  Therefore, the story behind the seventh song of the day was well-timed, for a few reasons!  The password to consider here is FLEXIBILITY.  You’ll see it in this post, with flexibility in how I use the word “dance.”

So, this morning was the last day of my staycation with Mom and Dad (who took a vacation to see me).  The “Morning Dance” for me was quite different on this vacation than it is normally, or even when I go back to Lincoln.  Let me explain.

On most mornings (even weekends), I wake up at 07:00 and immediately eat breakfast.  The food is usually cereal and/or fruit, but occasionally is something more ornate like pancakes or waffles.  But, whatever it is, it happens right after me waking up.  In addition to this, I will do some sort of reading, whether that be blogs, newspapers, or news on the Web.

However, during THIS vacation, I got up no earlier than 07:45 on any of the days.  In some sense I allowed myself to violate my normal Morning Dance, and sleep in.  This also meant, however, since even at that point I was the first one to get up, that I would not immediately eat breakfast.

On vacations, if I am up significantly earlier than the others, I can do some journaling or surfing the Web, oftentimes in the hotel lobby or outside the room.  This happened NONE of the days this time, and I also broke with my vacation routine by just using bullet points.  This may be an apt way to force a Reconstructed Journal at a later time.

Despite being hungry after waking up, the fact that the others were not awake yet forced me to be flexible, and I find that I usually am.  Heaven knows that as a non-expert choreographer, I sometimes improvise my moves on a song-ly basis!

The second part of the flexibility came when I requested a song for The Jazz Show today.  Mom and Dad and I had all done a little bit of a dance in the sense of taking the Chicago Water Taxi to and from Union Station, in doing a taste test of Nuts on Clark vs. Garrett popcorn.  Our timing worked out well for catching said Taxis, and although both types of popcorn had cooled down by the time that we returned to our hotel, the taste test worked well.

After Garrett, I tried to call WNUR while walking–no response.  About ten minutes later, I tried again–no answer.  At 11:00, I tried for the third time–the charm!  Lindsay picked up, and in addition to requesting “Tuesday” by Spyro Gyra, I added Mom and Dad to the line!  Even if her solo gig isn’t Sunny-Side Up, I can still make it like it were.

Unfortunately, she couldn’t find “Tuesday,” so instead played a double-play of other Spyro Gyra songs–the first one being “Morning Dance.”  That song happened to be the seventh song that I heard today.

Here is where FLEXIBILITY comes into Round Two.  This song was a perfectly fine substitute–oftentimes with jazz, I am not as particular with the song as I would be in rock or other genres.  It is more often the artist that intrigues me!  This also happened earlier in the year, with a substitution in the John Zorn Masada series.

Shades of March 18 followed (note: link is not a transcript of March 18, but a prelude to my emotions on that day) when Kristin’s request of “Let’s Get Lost” by Chet Baker came in… one of her favorite artists and one of the songs played on March 18.  It was a fun reminder of the Morning Dance on Tuesdays from January to March, and other mornings from 10:00-12:00 in other quarters at Northwestern.

Readers!  What is it like when your Morning Dance is perturbed?

========================================================

Today is the one-hundred and twenty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes eighteen weeks.

היום עשרים ואחת יום, שהם שלושה שבועות לעומר

Today is the sixth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.

5 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 126 / M.A.P.L.E. III-6] Morning Dance

  1. I like the song! I’ve never heard of it but I played saxophone in high school in the jazz ensemble and I really learned to like jazz music. My morning dance is usually posting my daily blog post while drinking tea and reading other blogs, then getting ready….and usually heading to Starbucks. It’s such an expensive habit, but especially during finals I’m finding it hard to live without a caramel macchiato.

    -Taylor
    http://tayloryates.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, Taylor! Similarly, I had never heard the song prior to it being inserted as a substitute for my request, but when you get lemons, squeeze them out!

      If you have a meal plan on campus, are there any dining halls that can create an acceptable substitute for a caramel macchiato, or is there a recipe that you might be able to make one yourself?

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

