[M.M.X.I.V. 127 / M.A.P.L.E. III-7] Total Eclipse of the Heart

The total eclipse that I always associate is that of the sun or the moon.  The solar eclipse happens when the moon aligns directly between the earth and the sun, and since the moon is small compared to the earth and sun, it might not be seen everywhere, and is thus more rarely seen.

The lunar eclipse happens when the moon passes in front of the shadow of the earth, and therefore happens more frequently as seen from the earth.  There was one last month as visible from Chicago, but I did not stay up to see it.  Too bad!

But, the song “Total Eclipse of the Heart” seems to have an air of hopelessness about a love that has been lost.  Like some of the other songs that I have written on, I cannot necessarily talk abut the love part of it, but I can talk about the hopelessness that I interpret from the song.  In particular, the “heart” need not only refer to love, but also to spirit and fortitude.

Regardless of the life that a person lives, he or she WILL experience difficulties, trials, and tribulations.  Some of these may appear to have an air of hopelessness, whether it be relationship trouble, a roadblock in work, a bad grade on a project, etc.  However, it is important to “have heart”–even if the difficulty leads to a total eclipse of your heart (i.e. you’ve lost all hope on it), please recall that total eclipses are temporary–the moon or sun will soon reappear.

In some sense, whenever you enter a difficult situation, you must remind yourself that “the sun will rise tomorrow.”  I have to remind myself of this at times when trying to struggle through my research, despite going from roadblock to roadblock.  I can overcome it, and even if it appears hopeless, there has GOT to be a way!

====================================================

Today is the one-hundred and twenty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes eighteen weeks and one day.

היום עשרים ושנים יום, שהם שלושה שבועות ויום אחד לעומר

Today is the seventh day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.  That makes one week.

7 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 127 / M.A.P.L.E. III-7] Total Eclipse of the Heart

  1. Wasn’t she something back in her day? Wonder what happened to Bonnie. I also liked her song Band of Gold. 🙂 These are the two I remember from the 80’s, 90’s. Thank yopu for posting this. It’s a classic that will never grow old. The lyrics are fantastic and timeless.

    Like

      • Ha ha! Well, I was ten when the song was released. 🙂 But I was used to listening to it from radio stations during mid 80’s and also a bit in the early 90’s now and then. I never really followed her or her career. But you don’t hear it so much today, though. It’s nice you resurrected it on your blog. 😀

        Like

      • Indeed. Pop songs from the 70’s and 80’s are among my favorite songs that you hear on the radio. It is amazing how some songs are popular when they release, and within even six months, seem to disappear completely from the air!

        Like

Let's have a conversation!

