[M.M.X.I.V. 134 / M.A.P.L.E. III-14] We Don’t Have To Take Our Clothes Off

Although this probably has little to do with the song, let’s see what happens if I play a scene that is inspired by the song.

(The scene involves the fictional characters Andrew and Jess.)

ANDREW: Jess, how are you comfortable wearing just a T-shirt here in rural Wisconsin in February?  Geez, it’s so cold outside!

JESS: I always forget that you are from Texas.  You don’t have to take your heavy clothes off here when it’s 40 degrees in February!

ANDREW: This sounds like the worst idea, going camping in freezing temperatures!

JESS: Yes, maybe it’s a bad idea, but we’re adventurers!  Ever since I met you at school.  Come on, could you help me set up the tent?  You were the one to suggest camping…

ANDREW [jumping in irritation]: Do this! Do this! Do this!

[Andrew walks to the truck, grudgingly getting out the bag containing the tent.]

[They open the bag, and find that the bag is missing all of the stakes, but the support lines are in the bag.]

ANDREW: I thought that this bag seemed a little light.  I should have felt it sooner.

JESS: Well, it seems like a pretty warm tent for tonight.

ANDREW: I’d rather burn it on a camp fire, and hope that nothing bad happens.

JESS: I paid good money for this tent.  Wait, I’ve got an idea… [after Jess says this, Andrew gives a disgusted face, knowing that her plan is probably completely ridiculous.] … let’s take those old textbooks in your trunk to hold down the tent!

ANDREW: Ha–paperweights in the literal sense!  You’re so funny, Jess.

JESS: Maybe so.  I brought no other heavy items, unless you think there’s something else out there.

[They erect the tent, which surprisingly stays up stably, with the textbooks on the corners.]

[They build a camp fire near the tent, and make S’mores.]

ANDREW: I never realized how beautiful it is out here.

JESS: It’s much different from when we were in college in Texas, that’s for sure.  Having grown up in Wisconsin, I got used to this.  After all, two weeks ago it was sub-zero.

ANDREW: I must say, your adventurous spirit is something that I strive for.

[Andrew takes off his coat, and is wearing exercise gear underneath.]

JESS: You don’t have to acquiesce to my clothing choice.

ANDREW: My family always told me that I needed thick skin.  After all, I didn’t play football for nothing!

JESS: Are you suggesting that we take a hike?

ANDREW: Yes.  That hill looks like it might have a great view.

[They hike to the top of the hill, and get a good panorama of the forest, with a small town on the horizon.]

JESS: It’s gotten colder.  I think we should drive into the town to get another coat.

ANDREW: Are you serious?  I’m feeling toasty now after that hike.  Here, take my coat.

=========================================================

Today is the one-hundred and thirty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes nineteen weeks and one day.

.היום עשרים ותשעה יום, שהם ארבעה שבועות ויום אחד לעומר

Today is the fourteenth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.  That makes two weeks.

Let's have a conversation!

