[M.M.X.I.V. 137 / M.A.P.L.E. III-17] Cupid Shuffle

I will freely admit that I somewhat cheated on getting to the song for today.  (Noah braces for getting his wrist slapped.)  This was about the ninth song of the day, but a couple of them in the meantime I could not readily hear, and also did not recognize at all!

As it turns out, there is one word that this song reminds me of.  That word?  GO.

The song was particularly salient to me during the summer of 2008.  I had been on a bowling league on Tuesday evenings the previous year, and one of my teammates recommended the “spring” (really, summer) league.  So, I bowled on Wednesdays at 21:30 in the league named “Bad Beer Blacklight Bowling Bonanza.”  (When I joined the league, I was still 20, and even after that, bad beer didn’t sound good to me, let alone the fact that I would have to drive home afterward.)

So, by “blacklight,” all of the games were “Cosmic Bowling” with party music and the lights down.  During the summer of 2008, “Cupid Shuffle” was almost always the first song that they played to start the game.  Therefore, it was a quick “Go!” association that was ascribed.  (OK, I will admit that was an awkward sentence.)

Fast forward a few years, to 2012.  I had mentioned this in my blog post from Walk Now For Autism Speaks about starting the walk with a warmup to this song.  Indeed, although it is probably passe, having done the prelude to the Walk with this song for three years now, it is now that great “T” word — TRADITION!

And both last year and this year, members of the Northwestern women’s basketball team and Autism Speaks U chapters (including me) got to go up on stage to lead the line dance.  Thank goodness I do not have stage fright–instead I really seem to enjoy it!

My experience on the Walk this year was quite similar to the previous two years, so I do not feel the obligation to go through in great detail.  I linked to (personal) Year One above, and if you are curious, Year Two you can read on THIS link.

It is easy to associate certain songs with events if you think about it.  What songs do you think of when you think of the word “GO?”

====================================================

Today is the one-hundred and thirty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes nineteen weeks and four days.

.היום שניים ושלושים יום, שהם ארבעה שבועות וארבעה ימים לעומר

Today is the seventeenth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.  That makes two weeks and three days.

Let's have a conversation!

