[M.M.X.I.V. 144 / M.A.P.L.E. III-24] אל אדון (post is in English)

When I am listening to (or participating in!) musical activities early in the day, I did not exclude services from the count of songs!  I went to services today, and as it was an Orthodox service, almost all of פסוקי דזמרה (P’sukei d’Zimrah: the introductory service) is done individually, excluding the last sentence or two of each Psalm in this section.

So, the seventh complete “song” that we did aloud was אל אדון (El Adon: roughly translated as G-d the Master).  This was NOT something that I had learnt during preparation for my בר מצוה (bar mitzvah), as my בוקר-שבת (Shabbat morning) leading began on that day at the תורה (Torah) service.  Thus, I didn’t learn it until I got into college and rediscovered Judaism.

(As a result of having gone to Orthodox services, I feel that posting this prior to the end of שבת would be acting as a hypocrite, even if I am neither Orthodox nor שומר-שבת.)

In particular, the seeds were planted during the summer before my sophomore year of college.  I had been regularly attending the Monday and Thursday services, as well as שבת services.  In my journal from June 26, 2006, I wrote, “I may play a ‘pivotal role’ in re-starting Junior Congregation” (from chatting with the rabbi).  This was a staple of my Hebrew school years, but had faded shortly after I became a בר מצוה (as well as how I quit attending services, but those are actually coincidental).  Some more comments about my bar mitzvah burnout are in posts from May 2012 and October 2011.

It evidently showed me that they were trying to engage the upcoming b’nai mitzvah classes in more of the service.  Therefore, it was a learning experience for me as well, since I was largely unfamiliar with אל אדון and שחרית (Shacharit: morning service prior to the תורה service) in general.  When I was practicing for this, I sometimes went down into the Piper Pit, the basement of my wing of the dorm at UNL, during odd hours (e.g. weekend mornings).

Leading the Junior Congregation was a challenge for me, partially because of not being well-rehearsed with some of the שחרית, but also because I do not think that I was particularly successful in trying to engage the kids.  Interestingly, though, this was one of my first “teaching” experiences–indeed the first of many!  Actually, after my resignation from Herman’s lab, it seems that teaching opportunities opened themselves to me in droves, with this, as well as the Math Resource Center and Lisa’s recommendation to apply for the Hewit Center (UNL athletics tutoring), though the latter did not pan out.

And look where we are now.  In some sense, אל אדון represents a big turning point in my thoughts and personal growth!

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and forty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty weeks and four days.

.היום תשעה ושלושים יום, שהם חמישה שבועות וארבעה ימים לעומר

Today is the twenty-fourth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.  That makes three weeks and three days.

The audio clip with the melody that we used today (as well as the one that I learned first) is at Siddur Audio, is at this webpage, running between the time marks of 3:13 until 4:49.

Let's have a conversation!

