[M.M.X.I.V. 145 / M.A.P.L.E. III-25] חי (post is in English)

I’ve got a good run of Hebrew songs popping up on my blog, evidently!  Interestingly enough, there is something about the name of the song that I can relate back to today, and in some sense I was hoping that the song would allow me to do this.  Today is the day before Memorial Day, which has meant the same thing for me the last five years (including this one).  In fact, I have written about it in each of the last two M.A.P.L.E. challenges.

It was Bike The Drive!  My experience for it was quite similar to the last two years, in terms of what I might blog about.  So, I wanted to focus on groups associated with Bike The Drive.

On one of my first years, I noticed team jerseys of some of the riders, and one of them was Chai Lifeline, hence how חי (Chai: lives) inspired this post.  My first impression of some of them was not great, because I saw a couple of them riding dangerously and with headphones, which are forbidden on the ride.  But, I realize that those dangerous riders were teenagers, possibly in some sort of a rebellious phase.  I should NOT let that paint me a picture of the whole organization, especially since a person’s behavior on bike may be different than their behavior in other situations.  Avoid the fundamental attribution error!

However, speaking of impropriety, there was some big impropriety from what I saw this time (as well as last time).  MB Financial Bank is the sponsor of Bike The Drive, and the last two years (at least), they have had pedi-cabs (i.e. Flintstones-type vehicles) on the Drive.  The problem (impropriety) there is that NONE of the pedallers on the pedicabs were wearing helmets–NOT ONE!  Considering that almost any organized bike ride has wearing a helmet as a requirement, it is extremely improprietous (if that’s not a word, oh well!) for someone captaining a vehicle with the sponsor’s logo to not follow a basic rule!

Let me shift from singling out unnamed riders, since that is out of character for me.

I have always signed up for Bike The Drive as an individual, rather than as part of a charity or cycling team.  I have also taken my own pace on each ride.  This is both a boon and a bummer.  It is a boon in that I am not subjected to slowing down for the weakest link or slowing the others down if I were the weakest link.  It is a bummer because it cuts down on my opportunities for chatting with other riders.

But, I feel that riders would feel awkward with a stranger trying to keep their pace and engage in a conversation.

Also, if I sign up as an individual, instead of with a charity team, that means another good thing: no fundraising required!  Fundraising is probably one of the biggest turn-offs for bike rides for me, after I failed to raise the minimum on the Wrigley Field Road Tour and had to pay the difference out of my pocket in 2011.

My favorite rides each year are all events with zero fundraising requirement: Bike The Drive, Four-Star Bike Tour, and North Shore Century.

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and forty-fifth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty weeks and five days.

.היום ארבעים יום, שהם חמישה שבועות וחמישה ימים לעומר

Today is the twenty-fifth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.  That makes three weeks and four days.

One thought on “[M.M.X.I.V. 145 / M.A.P.L.E. III-25] חי (post is in English)

Let's have a conversation!

