[M.M.X.I.V. 146 / M.A.P.L.E. III-26] Baker Street

As some of you know, one of my favorite leisure activities is to bake goods.  Blueberries play a key role in some of these, such as blueberry muffins or blueberry coffee cake.  Coincidentally, the seventh song “Baker Street” played as I was making the latter!  (Differently from the other times that I have made it, I had no brown sugar or super-viable substitute–I used honey and maple syrup with the sugar as a makeshift).  Egg and flour supplies were depleted as a result of this project.  For that reason, I will need to make a grocery run later!

Blueberry coffee cake

The fruits (pun partially intended) of my labor this morning.

Getting blueberries is most appetizing during the summer for me.  However, that clashes with one of Dad’s philosophies when I used to live in Lincoln.  In fiscally conservative (perhaps FAR to the right) fashion, use of the oven was restricted when the air conditioning was on.  Justified, perhaps, but a little overboard in my mind.  Keeping me away from a birthday tradition, however, was not an option.  Loosening restrictions is an important way to show that you are not all-controlling.

Moving to Evanston gave me new freedom to decide how to use energy in my place.  Never having fully considered the consequences of energy use, I have violated Dad’s restrictions since I have lived in Evanston.  Observe, however, that I am very frugal on energy use in other ways–rarely driving a car is a BIG boon for the environment and my pocketbook!

Plus, since I find baking to be a great stress reliever, it is an activity that I relish during the summer, when I might otherwise have research as my ONLY academic activity.  Qualifying this for this summer, of course, I will have the EXCEL teaching experience during July, which may over-run me with activity.  Sometimes, the busier I am, the more efficient I can be with what I need to do, even if I spread myself too thin.

The baking could play a role in encouraging students to come to office hours this July.  Usually, I did that in my first few years, but it seemed that in the last few quarters, students have not partaken in the treats that I have brought.  Verily, it could also backfire if I bribe them with snacks but then break their will by saying that treats at office hours are not standard among other people.  What should I do about that?

X marks the spot, as you have probably caught on to a theme that I attempted in this post.  You may want to consider the day of the month if you are still confused.

Zipping off now to a שמחת-בת (female baby-naming)…

============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and forty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty weeks and six days.

.היום אחד וארבעים יום, שהם חמישה שבועות ושישה ימים לעומר

Today is the twenty-sixth day of the third round of M.A.P.L.E.

3 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 146 / M.A.P.L.E. III-26] Baker Street

  1. Noah, that song sure brings back the memories. What a timeless classic, and how ironic that it played as you conjured today’s topic! Now it is imperative that I need to find something baked to eat, and quickly!

    Like

  2. Oh my–where to start! I am a sucker for any bagel, donut, muffin, rye, pastry, popover, roll, sourdough, cookie, pie, pretzel, or anything that somehow works a “twist” or “sesame seeds” into its description. If I left anybody out, I meant to include you on the menu also!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

