[M.M.X.I.V. 148 / M.A.P.L.E. III-28] Summer Of 69

There could be multiple-entendres within this post.  About a month ago, I had posted an algebra problem that I had read from Views Splash.  Thinking about this song actually makes me think of another song, and encourages me to give the answer to the problem.  I’ll give the answer to the problem, and then say why the song made me think of it.

A review of the problem:

A mother is 21 years older than her son. In six years, the mother will be five times the age of her son.  Six years later, the mother will be 5 times the age of her son.  What is the father of said child doing right now?

We can translate the sentences into equations.  Let M be the age of the mother (in years), and S be the age of the son (in years).  The first sentence translates to:

M = 21 + S    [Eq. 1]

For the second sentence, we have to add 6 to both of their ages before multiplying.  So:

(M + 6) = 5 (+ 6)    [Eq. 2]

When we have a system of two equations and two unknowns, one of them can be eliminated by adding the equations appropriately.  Distribute the 5 in the second equation:

M + 6 = 5+ 30    [Eq. 3]

Subtract Eq. 3 from Eq. 1, which will eliminate M:

 6 = 21 + S – 5S – 30   [Eq. 4]

Move terms around:

– 4 S =  6 – 21 + 30    [Eq. 5]

Since 30-21-6=3, we divide both sides by negative four and get S = -3/4.

MM900282747[1]

Hold on a second.  Age is negative?

Well, the question asked: “What is the father doing now?”  Well, -3/4 year is minus nine months, so I assume that means that the father is impregnating the mother!

Given that means that the mother is age 20.75 years, I would guess that they are probably not married, given today’s society…

The summer of ’69 I would clearly not remember.  However, another song that I like (Running On Empty) mentions the year ’69: “Sixty-nine I was twenty-one…”  For some reason, that lyric sticks out more to me than the Summer of ’69.  Therefore, I can certainly say, based off this, “Sixty-nine, I was minus-eighteen.”  (That could have some interesting numerology, given that חי (“alive”) has numerical value 18.  How interesting that I just wrote about that song the other day!)

Now that I think about it, something else!  With respect to Browne, 21 in ’69 means that he was born in ’48.  Well, today is day 148 of the year!  There must have been something to the connection that I made, though this would have been more appropriate on February 17… except that I hadn’t seen the riddle until April!  It’ll have to make do 🙂

Of course, we will see whether the use of the number “69” draws any explicit searches to this blog.  Sorry, but there’s nothing explicit for you here, other than an explicit solution to an easy algebraic equation!  If you were looking for “XXX,” all you have done has been to strike out.  I have a sound for you, just below:

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and forty-eighth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty-one weeks and one day.

.היום שלושה וארבעים יום, שהם שישה שבועות ויום אחד לעומר

Today is the twenty-eighth day of the third round of  M.A.P.L.E.  That makes four weeks.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 148 / M.A.P.L.E. III-28] Summer Of 69

Let's have a conversation!

