[M.M.X.I.V. 162] Promptly Unprompted

Well, the month of May just flew by!  That also means that M.A.P.L.E. has ended, and I go back to posts that need not be prompted by music.

Although I really liked the challenge that I made, it definitely caused there to be some days where my posting schedule was quite unpredictable.  In fact, the I would have to listen to the seventh song, decide how to incorporate it into a blog post, and then write it.  This was not always practicable in the morning as I had done with most of my previous posts this year, since I have to get work done during the day lest I lose efficiency!

The hardest part about writing, or anything in general, is getting started.  Some of the writing prompts (whether it be Daily Prompt, M.A.P.L.E. by the music, or some other impetus) make it easier for me to write, as opposed to starting a post from scratch.

There were some days during M.A.P.L.E., however, where dissonance jumped into the prompt.  For example, I cheated on the post “Bicicleta,” because the bike really had little to do with the topic that I REALLY wanted to write about that day.  Although I worked the bike into the post, I feel it was very artificial, and this was one case where the song built a larger barrier for me.

Yet, other times the song has either fit in perfectly, or something about the song pretty much breaks the barrier down to zero.  The tortuous (remember, people, that means winding, not torturesome!) path of logic that I used yesterday is an example of how the prompt significantly reduced the basic barrier that I have to overcome for inspiration on a post.

I have found, throughout M.M.X.I.V., that I have gone in many different directions that I would not have anticipated when the year began.  It keeps it interesting, and I do want to have a blog that caters to diverse interests!

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and fifty-second day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty-one weeks and five days.

.היום שיבעה וארבעים יום, שהם שישה שבועות וחמישה ימים לעומר

Let's have a conversation!

