[M.M.X.I.V. 160] Threes

Yesterday was a day of threes all day.  Some of these were routine for me, and some of them were of the “bad things come in threes” variety.  Of course, this implies that my post will be more of a list with annotations than my usual paragraph style.

  • The morning commute to League consisted of three transfers: Purple Line to Red Line, Red Line to Orange Line, and Orange Line to bike en route to the Pokémon TCG tournament.  This is a standard Sunday triplet for me.

    Purple Line to Red Line, Red Line to Orange Line, and Orange Line to Bike Line.

    Purple Line to Red Line, Red Line to Orange Line, and Orange Line to Bike Line.

  • At said tournament, it was four rounds of Swiss play and the following picture tells all.

    Four matches, three losses.

    Four matches, three losses.

  • Although the names at Bridge Club were not as given in the following piece of clip art, it was what we struggled through for about 40 minutes.  That is, we did not have a North (or, put more specifically, we only had 3 people, and 4 makes a bridge game.)

    There's a North missing from this table!

    There’s a North missing from this table!

  • The old adage “bad things come in threes” happened yesterday, and all were things which have happened to me in the past:
  1. My rear tire went flat on the Dahon went flat on the L (and I don’t know how).  Therefore, I chose to take out my Trek in order to go to dinner and then bridge club.
  2. This completes a full-circle of three bad things happening to my Trek when I use it during a time where the Dahon is involuntarily out of service.  A few times ago, it was The Crash, and then on March 20, 2012, I was a victim of Vehicle Larceny outside of Tech.  Last night, I also suffered Larceny, but thankfully the only item that was taken was my speedometer–the bike appeared unaffected.
  3. I had just brushed my teeth at 23:30 and was preparing to go to bed.  Then, I heard beeping, strobe lights, and something similar to THIS horrible sound.  So, we were outside for about an hour, and as it turns out, there was an actual fire one floor above me, and the sprinklers were activated.  Thankfully, my room was unaffected, but the result was that I lost out on 90 minutes of sleep.  Ugh!

Thus, as you can see, even in the “bads” of the threes, I was able to see the silver linings.

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and sixtieth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty-two weeks and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

