[M.M.X.I.V. 184] Line up!

There were several different post titles that I was considering for the title of this post, but with this one, I might as well use a stinger with a short story…

It was the last day of school in my eighth grade year, and one of the drum majors for the Southeast band had come to Pound to give our band class a primer in lining up for marching band.  We were not particularly organized with it, so Mr. Schulz joked to this drum major, “Come back next week after we’ve learned how to line up!”

However, the main pint of the post is instead lining up of calendars.  Today is July 3, and at least until sunset, corresponds to 5 Tammuz in the Jewish calendar.  The date of birth for me, in the Jewish calendar, was 6 Tammuz, 5747.  Therefore, although not a perfect alignment, the within-a-day is close enough.  Although the Hebrew calendar has a 19-year cycle of leap years, the dates that correspond every 19 years may not correspond exactly.

During my lifetime, 6 Tammuz has been within one day of my birthday three times.  It was on July 2 in 2006 (19 years old), and was on July 4 in 1995 (8 years old) and now tomorrow as well (27 years old).

Quite interestingly, however, there is another calendar alignment in which the English dates were off by one, but the Hebrew dates corresponded to really link the day for me.

On Friday evening on July 21, 2000 into Saturday, July 22, I led the תורה (Torah) and מוסף (Musaf) services, read תורה והפטרה (Torah and Haftarah), and gave a “sermon” on bullying at Congregation Tifereth Israel Lincoln.  This date was 19 Tammuz, 5760.  Yes indeed– it was my becoming of a בר מצוה (bar mitzvah)!

Going not as far back, but at the same time, going way back to the beginning of my blog, it was 19 Tammuz, 5771 which was my first day on Israeli soil.  That blog post speaks for itself.

However, despite me being more aware of special anniversaries and their corresponding Hebrew dates, I tend to only celebrate these special dates on their normal Gregorian dates.

=============================================================

Today is the one-hundred and eighty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty-six weeks and two days.

(Oh, does that mean that last year’s birthday for me was a golden birthday in the sense of the week’s number equaling my age? :p )

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 184] Line up!

      • Ooh, exciting indeed, Noah. As a child, I longed to have been born in the summer – and was very envious of the sister whose birthday was/is in August. I was born in January, the coldest, most miserable month!

        Like

      • Aha. Yet, I feel that people can make their birthday month special, even if they don’t otherwise like the month. My siblings were born in March and February, so they may have a little bit of envy for me too :p

        Like

Let's have a conversation!

