[M.M.X.I.V. 200] Parentheses

On September 25, 2003, Nebraska football played a rare Thursday night game in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  I was watching the game at home with Mom and Dad in the basement of our house, even though the basement was as-yet unfinished.  It was a blowout as the Huskers capitalized on five Golden Eagle turnovers, in a 38-14 win.

Well, what does this have to do with parentheses?

This was one of the first games that I watched on ESPN with their BottomLine giving sports news during the broadcast.  What struck me was some of the descriptions of people… for example, NAME (knee) doubtful for game, or NAME (violation of team rules) suspended for game.  This convention was certainly not new at the time, but for some reason, Mom and I both were laughing with it, particularly one that said NAME (groin) DNP.

Fast forward to this year, when I was playing Ultimate.  In the middle of the Group of Death (it really was, as 3 of the 5 teams, ours included, in the group advanced to the semifinals of the playoffs), we had a game scheduled, and the e-mail went like this:

“Due to various injuries:  Danny (Foot), Mark (Hamstring), Champe (Knee), we are going to be short-handed tomorrow.  Please let me know whether or not you can be there to make sure we have enough.”

My response was:

“Noah (healthy) will be available and playing.”

So, you can imagine where this is going.

On the Chicagoland Cycling Channel:  “Noah (wrist) out 4 weeks.”

I wonder where the parentheses convention for hold-outs in sports came from.  Hopefully I can avoid parentheses next to my name for a good long time after this ordeal is over.

================================================================

Today is the two-hundredth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes twenty-eight weeks and four days.

Today is the fifth day of the Character Building Trial.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 200] Parentheses

Let's have a conversation!

