[M.M.X.I.V. 227] Shout!

A little bit softer now…

As it turns out, what I am referring to is not the song (although it would be great if it did).  Instead, I took a sequence of three photos yesterday (together with captions in case the photos didn’t come out well).  But if you’re on my home page, you’ll have to Keep Reading!

 

"Lincoln Street Closed"

“Lincoln Street Closed”

"Friday 08/15/14 10AM-2PM"

“Friday 08/15/14 10AM-2PM”

"UTILITY WORK"

“UTILITY WORK”

The lattermost message (UTILITY WORK) was the first message that I saw on the whatchamadeelie when I was passing by it on a quick bike ride (yes, I am back on my bike after an interminable four-week hiatus!)  Therefore, I had to stop and take a picture, and mention something about it on my blog.

The different methods that emphasis on words can be used has fascinated me.  Several different ways include larger letters, boldface, scare quotes, excessive punctuation marks (although I think that sort of goes along with scare quotes), color, different font, and I am probably exhausting myself of ideas at this point.

My favorite type of emphasis is probably the boldface or larger letters.  Fonts also amuse me, but I think that the most obvious changes are what stand out to me the most.

There actually was another electronic marquee which this reminded me of, and I also saw it on a bike ride… back in May.  On McCormick Place, two different announcements appeared, as given here.

Welcome Riders

CARS STAY TO THE RIGHT

 

Well, that was fun.  The photos hopefully get my point across better than trying to write a bunch of words today.

=============================================================

Today is the two-hundred and twenty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-two weeks and three days.

Today is the thirty-second day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes four weeks and four days.

Let's have a conversation!

