[M.M.X.I.V. 228] Good timing

A few days ago, I read the post “Job Opportunity” on Maggie Wilson’s blog.  She had received an opportunity for an internship at a gold mine in Nunavut in February.  My immediate response was intentionally punny:

Although it sounds fun, I would probably have none of it.

(Two drums and a cymbal just fell of[f] the cliff.)

More importantly, the name “Nunavut” encouraged me to write this post on good timing.  I will explain, certainly.  But before I get into the meat of the post, the first thing that I will notice is that I made a rare typo on that comment, since for some reason the keyboard did not recognize the second press of the “f” key!  To whom shall I pay the five cents?

All right, that pedanticity aside, let me give the reason why I wanted to mention good timing with relation to Nunavut.  It was the spring of 1999, and I may have been getting restless in terms of sixth grade, wanting for the year to end.  But the summer break was still nearly two months away.  Thankfully, the worst projects of that year had been completed, as I did not like a few of the research papers that we had to do earlier in the year.  (Academically, I found sixth grade more relatively challenging than seventh, eighth, OR ninth grade!)

In social studies, our unit was on Canada, with learning about the provinces and culture of the country.  On April 1, 1999, Nunavut was officially formed as a split-off from the Northwest Territories, and so it must have been perfect timing that we were learning about Canada at that point.  In some sense, I feel like this was coincidental, yet not, simultaneously.  (In retrospect, I do not remember whether we started the unit before or after April 1, but either way, it was perfect timing.)

I have already mentioned on my blog some other dates that have had perfect timing or recurring significance, such as July 21. As it turns out, last night when I was at Anshe Emet Synagogue for services, I re-connected with someone that I had met 51 weeks ago at Shabbat on the Lake.  The timing was good, and the person remembered me (because for some reason I am quite a memorable soul!)  Will another encounter occur this week at Shabbat on the Lake?  Stay tuned!

Sometimes, I wonder if the well-timed incidents are actually co-incidental, or whether there is something that encourages the co-incidence of seemingly related events.  You just have to wonder…

=====================================================

Today is the two-hundred and twenty-eighth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-two weeks and four days.

Today is the thirty-third day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes four weeks and five days.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 228] Good timing

  1. Ooh, a cliff hanger, Noah; I await the next part of this with bated breath! I think time often leaps into well-trodden grooves (as it were) – and we find patterns in numbers, in dates. I love this; it is endlessly fascinating to me!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ali! Strangely enough, no sequel to this post was planned. Many of my posts seem open for continuation, but I am usually quite myopic in that sense! Of course, the idea of patterns will continue in other posts even if they don’t refer to this one.

      Like

  2. Hi Noah. I have changed “of” to “off” and wrote a footnote on the comment. No charge. 😉

    For better or worse, (and it seems to be mostly very sad) I’ve been following lots of posts on the death of Robin Williams this week. Two of them report startling synchronicity.

    Apparently an episode of Family Guy was playing immediately beofre or concurrently to the announcement of Robin Williams’ death. The Family Guy story was about Peter Giffin, the main character, who is stricken with the magic ability to turn everything he touches into Robin Williams. He is so distraught by this power that he tries to commit suicide and fails. Sick, I know, but mind boggling in context of the real actor’s suicide.

    Another blogger wrote about how THE weekend before we heard the news, he and his wife enjoyed a movie marathon featuring… yeah, you guessed it.

    So. Is there something that encourages these events? If you throw a pebble into a pool, the ripples move outward. But at some point, they hit a barrier and move back. I can’t help fantasize that the phenomenal response to his passing hasn’t actually set up a cosmic backwash.

    I know. A bit woo-woo. But…

    Like

    • I’ve heard of stranger things. Another coincidence based off that idea was how Michael Jackson’s song “Off The Wall” was stuck in my head on my plane ride to St. Louis on June 25, 2009, and then later that evening I find out that he died. The song naturally remained stuck in my head for the remainder of that weekend.

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

